Did You Know I Was Extremely Afraid Of Water Once? About Overcoming Fear And Personal Growth

in #gathering6 years ago

67d44683-9699-4adf-af00-32a80522cef1.png


It's been quite a drama. I was 5 years old and my adventurous parents had taken me on a road trip through California (US). During four weeks we called a nice camper our home, visited the most amazing national parks and slept at camping sites close to rivers, lakes and forests. It was a dream of a holiday - until we were supposed to visit a water park. That plan was my personal nightmare, but I couldn't find any valid excuse that was able to convince my parents to not take me with them. At that point in time there were few things on earth I detested more than water. The idea of riding down a water slide, then jumping into a swimming pool and finding my head unter water was worse than everything I had ever imagined. Not even tears helped me out. My parents were merciless in that sense since they thought it might be a good lesson for me to overcome my fear and try the slide against all odds. They thought it'd let me grow... Well I can tell you that the only thing that grew inside myself was: panic! Haha! Now more than 30 years later I'm looking back on that experience and smile: many things have changed since then. Yet, it wasn't a water slide that converted me into the water addict I am today. It was the underwater world I discovered by chance during a diving trip in 2008. First I was in doubt if diving would be a good idea for someone who was even unable to snorkel (you know: the head-under-water-problem). But then one of the guides took me on a test dive and what I found there changed my connection with water forever. Nowadays, I can't get enough of the Ocean, spend every free minute catching waves, and on some days I drink more sea water than sweet water. It's fascinating how things can change, when you discover an opportunity to grow. Yet, as this little excursion proves: it has to come out of yourself. Nobody can force you to overcome a fear you're not ready to face. It's your life after all, so you decide. Thanks for your time, steemians! Much love, Marly - PS: Thanks for the #gathering tag, @ned :-)


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

With me, and diving, I suddenly become very claustrophobic, its a bit like depression, I feel trapped under the waves and I lose sense of direction.
However, i will free swim anywhere on the surface, the depth below me holds no fear. Even if I cant see land i'll jump off a boat and swim.
Of course, I'm odd...;-)
Great lessons and your parents sound awesome. Despite not being afraid, never stop being cautious. All water deserves respect :-)
Theres a point here somewhere ! Fear is an important emotion, the trick is determining the difference between rational fear, which should be heeded, and irrational fear which needs to be examined and overcome.
Getting over a fear of tigers wont improve your personal growth, it will get you eaten ;-)

Great comment and very valuable addings here, @nathen007! Thank you!

I can totally relate when you say that you feel trapped under the waves. That's the very reason why I haven't started to try deeper duck diving yet. I just don't like the idea of passing by below these monsters :-)

I'll definitely never be able to unlearn my respect for water which is actually what protects me every day out there. The Ocean is a wild and dynamic place that can change from one second to the next, so we always need to be pretty attentive.

Again, thanks for sharing your thoughts!
Enjoy your day

Now you have revealed to everyone how old you are. It should be every girl's best kept secret! It is great to hear you have managed to overcome your fear, so that we can now read about your surfing adventures.

She didnt...she probably lied lol ;-)

She is not that kind of person!

Love this :-)) Now I will keep you all a bit more in suspense until the 11th of July when I will publish a birthday blog post and let you count the candles :-)

@nathen007 is now probably thinking, but does not dare to say ...

"She will need a big birthday cake to put all the candles on it.*

Hahaha, challenge accepted! I'll get them on it - all of them :-D

Can't wait to see that cake!

Hahaha, good call! :-D

I know when to quit lol...

When u enjoy something doing... salt will be much sweeter than the sweetest water..
You really have roof breaking positive vibe :-)

Well said @saujitlivefulest!
Thanks for the compliment and for stopping by in my blog :-)

Sehr gut, das muss ich meiner Freundin zeigen, die hat mega Angst vor dem Meer.

Angst vor Wasser direkt hatte ich nie, allerdings habe ich erst recht spät das Schwimmen gelernt. Genau weiß ich es nicht mehr aber ich denke ich war so 6 oder so.

Und was ist jetzt? Was wären wir nur unser Surfbrett??? Die letzte Surfsession ist bei mir jetzt ca. 5 Wochen her und ich halt es kaum noch aus! 😂

5 Wochen ist eine Ewigkeit - das kann ich super gut nachvollziehen :-)

Ich war von November bis März/April krank (Atemwegsprobleme) und konnte in dieser Zeit kaum surfen - das waren definitiv die längsten Monate meines Lebens!

Whatever you manifest life will bring to you is what is really happening to you. With time you wi see that what you are afraid will became part of you most. Like me with babies bafore i got my half life hhh. Gud achievement @surfermarly @aasanka #dlive

I don´t know if I was afraid of anything on the beach when I was younger, but I love every sport that you can make on the beach.

Fun story: My sister had fear of the sand, as a child, and it took her almost 1 year and a lot of persistence from my uncle to make her walk on sand without shoes.

You took over the fear to make it your passion the best way to live life @surfermarly a true example bravery and icon for many... Thanks for sharing the insight 👍

Wow that's an eye-opening experience you've made! Having your story in mind I will think about my own fears and blocks more deeply to find out about my personal opportunities to grow:-) Thanks for sharing!

At the end of the day, nothing beats getting comfortable with what makes you uncomfortable.

Well that is how we grow and , seems like 2008 was indeed a lucky year for you and hope the love for the water stays that way forever.Enjoy your coming days to the fullest !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66494.63
ETH 3508.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66