SEC-S20W1 | 1st Course: Salads

in #gastronomy-s20w13 days ago

Steem greetings to all the foodies on the platform, welcome to my blog as I share my ideas about a 3-course meal and a special mixed veggies salad as a starter.

IMG_3306.jpeg
Image designed on Canva.

Cameroon is blessed with a variety of food and of course, it is a normal lifestyle to prepare a 3-course meal. I often prepare a 3-course meal at home, especially on weekends when I'm fully at home. I also prepare it during birthday celebrations, thanksgiving and funeral celebrations.

For the 3-course meal, I prepared mixed veggies salad for the starter, which also acts like an appetizer.

IMG_2926.jpeg
Mixed Veggies salad for starter.

The main course meal of the day was fried white beans with boiled plantains. Plantains are rich in iron and beans rich in proteins. The beans is fried using some veggies like carrots, green beans, etc. You can also eat the beans with rice as a main meal for the day.

IMG_1875.jpeg
The main course, fried beans with boiled plantain/ or rice.

For the dessert, I go with sponge cake and an apple. Remember an apple a day can keep you far away from the hospital he he he.

IMG_5392.jpeg
The desert, sponge cake and apple

I am a foodie and will definitely take my 3-course meal per day except otherwise because at times I'm so busy that I even forget to eat.

For the type of salad, I prepare mixed veggies salad and I will go further to explain the process.

Ingredients.

The quantity of ingredients needed depends on the quantity of salad to be prepared. Remember, for household consumption, a small quantity of ingredients will be required. The ingredients required will be as follows:

  • White cabbage
  • Red cabbage
  • Carrots
  • Cucumber
  • Boiled eggs
  • Vinegar
  • Tomatoes
  • Onion
  • Lettuce (optional)
  • Avocado

The Process

Step 1: Take your white/red cabbage, and carrot sliced into desirable slices and use clean water with a bit of salt to disinfect it after slicing. Use vinegar to rinse the sliced veggies and set aside.

IMG_3072.jpeg
White and red cabbage and carrots set.

Step 2: Boil your eggs at high heat for about 15 minutes. Remove them from the pot and put them in cold water. This will help make it easier to peel off.

IMG_3422.jpeg

IMG_3072.jpeg


Step 3: Take your cucumber, onion, fresh tomatoes wash them and cut them into desirable slices. Add to the already prepared cabbages and carrot to form any unique designed of your choice.

Step 4: Cut the peeled boiled eggs into desirable slices and add to give them a new look.

Step 5: Take your avocado, peel it cut it into desirable slices and add more beauty to the salad design. Use your washed lettuce to garnish.

IMG_3083.jpeg
The perfect design for mixed veggies salad.

For the salad cream, the following steps should apply. However, everyone has different ways of making salad cream.

The following are the ingredients used for the cream:

  • Mayonaise
  • Vinegar
  • Condensed Milk

9836b43c-1fe2-4573-8563-46f54c4cc97f.jpegBlending the cream ingredients.

As I earlier said, the quantity will all depend on the quantity of salad prepared.
I prepared the cream by using a blender to mix up the mayonnaise, vinegar and condensed milk. The blender helps to give it a good blend and creamy taste for the mixed veggies salad.

IMG_3668.jpegFrench bread to be eaten with mixed salad.

Some people prefer eating the mixed veggies salad with rice and others prefer eating it just as it is. For me, I like to eat it with French bread.

IMG_3307.jpeg

In sum, my starter meal for the day was mixed veggies salad. The main course meal was fried beans with boiled plantains and the dessert was sponge cake and an apple. I hope you enjoyed reading through it. I will invite @josepha, @mesola and @crisvera to share ideas on this course.

Sort:  

This is a very complete salad, full of colors and textures, and therefore full of vitamins and minerals. I loved the way you cut carrots.

I can't stop being amazed the way users prepare dressings for the salads. You blowed out my mind by adding condensed milk to the mayonnaise. Then also the vinegar.

Best wishes

The combination of vinegar, condensed milk and mayonnaise will give a perfect cream for your salad. This salad is nutritious with lots of minerals. Thank you for your support.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Thank you for the support.

Loading...

This salad is enticing. The ingredients you used and the steps are well explained. I enjoyed reading every bid of this post ma'am.

I'm glad you enjoyed reading through and I hope you one day follow the salad recipe and prepare it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58140.33
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44