Orange Season!

in #gardens6 years ago

My husband and I moved to our first house last May and we have been enjoying and learning all of the wonderful things that come with home ownership. One of the nicest things we have enjoyed is learning about planting and growing our own food. Mother Nature is fascinating with how it adapts and produces incredible things.

I wanted to share a picture of the oranges and orange tree that my neighbor has. We are lucky to have a great relationship with our neighbor and she happens to have the most amazing orange tree (hundreds of oranges) and unfortunate for her, she hates oranges! The tree is incredible and the oranges are delicious...

What successes have you had with growing your own vegetable and fruit garden?

image

Sort:  

I lived in Palm Beach, FL a few years ago. We had two orange and avocado trees in our back yard. The oranges were so sweet and avocado delicious. We share fruits with our neighbors. I miss those days.
Thank you for your bringing back my good memory..

Thanks @boulder2018! We just planted a 5.5 foot avocado tree in our backyard and it has been struggling to survive. Any advice on taking care of an avocado tree? We are hoping it will bear fruit one day!

we didn't plant, they were already there when we moved in. I did look up how to grow avocado tree, they mention location is one of the most important considerations. Since avocado trees do not have bark to protect themselves from the intense sun and so they must be planted under shade. Better plant under the shade of the parent plant and as it matures it would eventually break through the upper canopy.

Great advice! Our tree is actually in the sun most of the day so I think it’s time to move him or her.

@iamjapachi, those oranges look delicious! I need a neighbor like that. Thanks for sharing!

The concept of knowing your neighbors and sharing resources is something we often miss in America...or at least in Los Angeles! We bake her treats to say thank you to show the love back! Thanks for commenting!

Yuuum! You guys are really lucky with the neighbor! Beautiful oranges, you can tell that they are delicious by just looking at them! Are you guys just pealing and eating or is there enough to make some superb OJ for the mornings?

We are making some amazing OJ in the morning!

OJ and Avocado toast with some bacon and eggs! Yumm Yumm! Enjoy!

Now I'm getting really hungry!

Right, learning the hard way that it is quite a challenge to grow your own food. love that the neighbor is fine with people taking the oranges. Judging by the size of the tree it's been there for a long time!

A very beautiful photo, orange does have many benefits for us. I see it looks very beautiful view on the orange place. A great job, planting and growing your own food. We should be able to keep, so we can always be good and help each other with our neighbors. Let the life we live can always get happiness. Thanks for sharing and hope you have a wonderful day ... :)

Thanks! I appreciate your comments!

Amazing! The photo makes me feel like I'v been there before!

Amazing photography. I love orange

Harmony with neighbors is very necessary in case, because when there is a problem in the family, the first neighbors come to help, and the heavenly tugs held by neighbors, so the interaction with the neighbors should always be on guard well.

I completely agree @adson. Have you been on the app Next Door?

Completely agree @adson! Have you been on the app Nextdoor?

Congratulations @iamjapachi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I used to plant an orange tree in a family garden,
and the fruit is quite sweet,
I used to like because the tree I planted can bear fruit,
But for some reason now all the trees are dead whether the disease hit the tree,

I really like your post @iamjapachi

woww oranges are big and tasty,
oranges with very many vitamins,
you are a lucky person can plant a tree like this,
where I live can not grow because of the different weather,
but I want to plant it 😭

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57034.02
ETH 3084.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41