You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wrapping up July in the Garden.

Sorry to hear about Minnie... :0(

I can hardly believe it's mid-winter over there... everything looks so green indeed.

Thanks for joining the SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge - July

Sort:  

It's kind of topsy turvy here, so while it's winter, it's also an easier time for many things to grow, so we're green like the North.

I'm likely going to be seeing more chicken deaths in the coming years as they are getting older.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've been trying hard not to get emotionally attached to our three chickens - I have a hard enough time with the cats already. But I failed miserably. I didn't even give them a name, but during this last year, 'the black', 'the white' and 'the ginger' have become their names, 😂

I think I made the first mistake by making it a condition that my gf could only get us some chicken if she promised we wouldn't eat them when they would die, but that we would bury them.

I'm such a sucker when it comes to animals 😉

It's probably not best practice to eat chickens which die naturally anyway. I'd they were sick, they wouldn't be safe to eat and three older they get the tougher the meat becomes, so those who might cull older hens only use them for stock. I prefer not to cull hens at any point.

In my opinion, not naming them doesn't work unless they all look the same! They would have become Black, White and Ginger here. Lol! I even have a Ginger, who is the flock queen. I try not to name baby bunnies as I know they will go to new homes, but sometimes you need to distinguish, so they end up being colours too. We currently have Brown, Grey and Chocolate.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65673.10
ETH 2625.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66