You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Looking Back at June and the Garden Progress.

Excellent looking garden. Not much goes to waste with chickens. I had a raspberry patch in my orchard where my chickens have a very large area to roam. They kept the raspberry patch clean of weeds except for some catnip. They ate a few berries but i still got a nice harvest.

I am just getting the last of my warm weather crops in, in that our summer is just beginning; the opposite of your area. I am behind on weeding but now that most of the planting is done I can focus on that.

everything looks great. Thank you for sharing.

Sort:  

Thank you.

I'd love to grow raspberries. They struggle here, though and I think my chickens would eat the whole plant if I had it in the run! They don't always get much green foods, particular in summer, so they go crazy for it.

Everything's growing so we'll, now, that I'm weeding as I plant in some places. I want to get on top of finishing all the plantings. Hope you get yours finished soon. It often takes longer than you expect, doesn't it?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes it does take a lot longer than expected. I have cut my garden in half over the last few years and it still takes a lot of time.

When greens are not available for chickens I grow trays of wheat or barley grass and let them have the tray to enjoy. I also save lawn clippings, drying them, and storing them in garbage can...giving out a little every couple days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60510.42
ETH 2615.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60