My chayote plant gets bigger and first fruits are appearing!

in #gardenjournal20195 years ago

Hello, fellow gardeners? How are you?

I'll post a quick update to my little gardening experiences. My chili pepers are doing so-so, but I do not have recent photos of them. I have two pepperoncino plants, that seem to love the setup where they are growing, because there are a lot of chili peppers, waiting to get ripe.
Sadly, the Moruga Scorpion peppers keep on dropping their flowers and I don't know where the problem is. Of the two plants, only one pepper has formed and is going to get red pretty soon, in my opinion. Chocolate habanero plant has 3 peppers at all, while the Carolina reaper even isn't flowering. Pretty strange situation...

Anyway, the chayote squash is forming a lot of fruits and they start to grow really fast. Here is one fruit from about 10 days ago.
IMG_2051.jpg

5 days ago, it was this big:
IMG_2071.jpg

And yesterday they are almost twice as big... And they keep on growing really fast.
IMG_2104.jpg

I cannot wait to pick some fruits and cook them! I've eaten chayote only once, when they gave this plant to me, but now I will have a bigger quantity of fruits. Well, I ahve tried this pland, as I picked some shoots and steamed them, then adding them to some other vegetables and eggs. It turned out really delicious, although there was just about 6-7 shoots.

Some more are coming soon!
So that's for now, hopefully next time I will have some better results and photos to share!

See you soon.

Sort:  

Cool! My chayote plants are going strong too - we're in the middle of a heatwave, and they're simply loving it - but so far, no fruits yet. I should actually still try the shoots; I keep forgetting they're edible. :0)

I wasn't aware that all the plant is edible when they gave the chayote fruit to me... And one more benefit from picking the shoots - this will most likely stimulate the plant to grow much more fresh shoots!

I have been doing great already been enjoying some stuff from my garden tomatoes, peppers, and herbs.

I’ve never heard of chayote. I hope you get some amazing photos of them when they are ready to share with #gardenjournal2019. Have an amazing rest of the week.

Hey, thanks for the comment and your attention. Chayote is not famous here where I live - in Bulgaria, but there are some people growing it. I'll keep an eye on your posts about gardening. I also plan to grow tomatoes next season. Can't wait!

Congratulations @mdosev! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 17000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 18000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56