Some Wins, Some Losses. It's All a Part of Gardening.

in #gardenjournal20186 years ago

It's the second week of August and it's time for SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge # 4 #gardenjournal2018 from @simplymike Find out more and come join in at: https://steemit.com/gardenjournal2018/@simplymike/-steemit-community-garden-journal-challenge-4---august-join-or-resteem-and-win

Come tour my gardens...

Bruno behind apple tree full of apples.JPG

Just about time for harvesting the apples! My dog Bruno has already been helping himself. See the post where I caught him in action at: https://steemit.com/dogsofsteemit/@porters/my-dog-loves-apples

Cherry tree.JPG

We're getting some cherries and there are quite a few plums but they are still green now. We have a hard time getting the plums to ripen before the frost. I even cover parts of the trees with row cover to get just a little bit more ripening time.

container microclimate garden August.JPG

We're eating some tomatoes and peppers out of the container garden. This is what I call my micro climate garden. We don't have much full sun in our yard being we live in the forest. The spot on the south side of our house provides a good spot for us to grow some of the warm weather plants.

cucumbers on vine in covered garden resized.JPG

The cucumbers in the covered garden are doing well but the ones outside not so much. They are in an area that is lower, thus cooler and damper. I start them in pots inside to get a head start, but if it is too cool, they will not put out female flowers, thus not much fruit.

Green tomatoes forming covered garden resized.JPG

The tomatoes are forming in the covered garden but no big ones ripe yet. The tomato plants keep me busy pruning off the extra leaves and new shoots. I take these off so all their energy can go into producing and ripening those tomatoes.

full heads of cabbage in garden.JPG

We've eaten most of our broccoli except the sprouting variety that keeps putting out smaller florets all season long. The cabbages are doing well, although the few that I kept under the row cover (to protect from cabbage moths) had some rotting.

mole hills where beans were.JPG

Yikes! The moles have been taking out all my bean plants which were just starting to produce. I tried putting in little windmills but we didn't get much wind in there and they were too heavy to produce the vibration the moles dislike.

kale and lettuce in greens garden.JPG

The kale is coming along nice. I like the young leaves in the salads with the lettuce which is also doing well.

herbs and view from deck.JPG

This is the view from my deck. It is an area that gets more sunlight and I keep some potted herbs and a Black Hungarian pepper that has pretty purple flowers and dark purple fruit. It is producing very well there. The patch of self-seeded Himalayan impatience behind the deck is full of bees. It's quite amazing, although the Himalayan impatience are not native here so they may be taking the bees away from pollinating the native plants - not so good.

fig tree on deck resized.JPG

One of my biggest disappointments is my fig tree which was flourishing inside the sun room, full of figs, then they got invaded with mealy bugs. I didn't want to spray the tree with what I used last fall, Safers Soap, until I had picked the figs. I kept taking leaves off that had lots of bugs on them and squishing a few but they got out of hand. I wanted to do some growing in the sun room this winter so I had to take the fig outside and clean out the sun room.

duck in pot of pansies resized.JPG

I must have some pansies in my garden. To me they are the happy plants with their face like flowers. This old duck decoy has found a home amongst the pansies.

flower pot fushia and pink begonias.JPG

Another favorite flower of mine is the fushia and begonias so I like to keep a pot of them on my deck.

I hope you enjoyed the tour of my garden in August and will return for another tour in September.

Sort:  

Thanks for showing us around your garden, @porters. Such a shame about the fig tree. But there's a chance it will recover once you treathed it an put it back into the sun room. At least, I hope so.

I have quite a heavy manifestation of spider mite in different parts of my garden. I tried getting rid of them using a garlic spray, but that doesn't seem to work. It looks like I will need to take out the heavier stuff (still bio, but not homemade). I truly hope I will be able safe the infected plants.

Yes some times we have to resort to something a little harsher. I use the Safer's soap which is biodegradable and made from natural ingredients I just don't like using it on plants that I'd be eating right away.

Congratulations @porters! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Your garden looks so fertile and abundant. I am looking forward to a productive spring and the warmer weather making my garden come alive. Meanwhile I enjoy glimpses into Gardens like yours. Thank you

Unfortunately I missed the payout of this post - I'll upvote a more recent one for you :) I just wanted to drop a note: I love your container garden - it seems very productive! Any chance you have a post about planting in containers? Do you use stones/rocks at the bottom and potting soil on top? My pots have never been stunningly successful.. Do you water them once or twice a day?

Good day! I plant in containers to take advantage of that spot by the house that gets good light (I live in the forest so light is at a premium) Also with containers you can move them around to take advange of the different micro climates through the growing season. I bring some of these pots into the sunroom for the winter. I make sure I have good drainage in my pots and that they are bigger containers so they don't need to be watered as much. I also had a solution that helps hold the moisture in the soil. You can use a baby diaper in the bottom of your pots that wicks the moisture up and holds it to slowly release to your plants. Just make sure you poke holes through the plastic part of the diaper or take it right off. I put an organic fertilizer in each pot on planting to feed them through out the season. I will be posting an update to my garden in September for this same contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62667.39
ETH 2432.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66