Nature Is Kinda Cool

We have been growing pumpkin here and it is my first time being successful. Well, it is growing and forming more than last year, just not ready for picking quite yet.

I had forgotten how huge and how beautiful the flowers are that grow from it. Even though they look like the ones that zucchini have, they are twice as big.

IMG_20180821_123744[1].jpg

I have been taking pictures of the plant, recording their growths. In my previous garden post I have mentioned that the pumpkin plant was doing quite well, so well that it was growing into my neighbour's yard.
But one thing that was quite different is that this pumpkin plant wanted to take new heights, literally...

IMG_20180818_142009[1].jpg

In this picture it shows that the pumpkin plant decided to wrap its tiny little arm stringy things onto the tree and start growing a pumpkin there. Trust me, I did not put it there. Actually, in this mini rain forest style of a garden I have, I had to search quite a bit to find if there was anything more growing than just the flowers.

And with search I found another little guy. I had my son go and get what was growing in the neighbour's yard that is at a lower level than my yard, in order to save the pumpkins. Although this one doesn't look like it was having the best start.

IMG_20180818_141909[1].jpg

It looks wrinkly lol.

So with that I started to keep a photographic journey of the pumpkins, more so the one in the tree. I wanted to see if it could actually grow there. Thinking that the weight would become too heavy for the tiny tree to withhold.
And so we start with this close up here being the 2nd picture a few days after the one I took of it in the tree.

IMG_20180818_142034[1].jpg

I was actually surprised at how big it was before I even noticed it in the tree, but then who would think to look for a pumpkin there?
I left a few days in between before taking pictures. Even though the plant itself grew impressively fast because of the new type of weather we have been receiving here in the north, the fruit itself seems on the slow end.

Here is the 3rd picture I took a few days after.

IMG_20180825_132145[1].jpg

Quite a difference from the 1rst picture. This one was about 5 days after the first picture was taken. So actually it is growing faster than I thought.
With it being this size and already has started to droop down from the tree, my thoughts of the tree not being strong enough to hold the pumpkin were true. So I had my husband help me take it out of the tree being careful not to break the stem.

And to think the only two things holding this heavy guy was this tiny little spaghetti like arm. How strong they are.

IMG_20180825_132354[1].jpg

With that we noticed that another branch of the plant was again growing in the neighbour's yard. My son hurried to help and how happy he was to find another good size pumpkin growing. He helped bring it up safe and sound.

IMG_20180825_132120[1].jpg

As my husband stated and I am starting to believe him, I am not so good at finding my veggies lol. He said that because not only have we found an extra pumpkin, I have found what I think is to be another type of squash. I can't remember what I grew lol. Laughing because I never labelled my crops.

There was 3 growing right there, but hiding under the big leaves.

IMG_20180825_133004[1].jpg

IMG_20180825_173306[1].jpg

Sneaky buggers.

For the little wrinkly one, I couldn't find him. Lost to the world. Maybe a bird pecked at it, carried away. It's hard life when just starting out in the world.

I am very happy with all this new growth, means I am doing something good.

What I plan on doing with these pumpkins? Everything! Pumpkin pie, cake, cookies, bakes pumpkin seeds, although I will be saving some to grow more next year, um soup, um... I'm running out of ideas, but if you got more share them in the comments! I would love to see what more there could be :D

Until next time, take care and happy growing, happy harvest :D

Sort:  

@rebeccabe, here is the pumpkin post I finally got out. Tagged you as requested. Take your time to get to it though, understanding that you are a busy woman.

Great pumpkin followup, @foxyspirit.
Isn't it amaeing how fast and determined their vines grow? And then the pumpkins itself... I saw a small one 3 days ago, but I just checked on it again, and it has already doubled in size...

It is amazing! And if I knew this summer was going to be such a hot one, I would have grown watermelon too. They would have done awesome.

I'm waiting for my 4th watermelon to ripen, now. Best watermelon harvest ever :0)

Yum! No kidding pumpkin everything* Awesome pumpkin growing @foxyspirit Now that you mention it, i did notice the huge flowers on our pumpkin plants. Not sure how they are going to grow though. It's already getting SO cold at nights. Yay pumpkins 🍊

It is cold here at night too. But I think they do ok in the cold.

It is cold here at
Night too. But I think they do
Ok in the cold.

                 - foxyspirit


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Ufff here comes the robberyy 😝 my topic for today was pumpkin too....noy yet posted but now need to think upon....seems there is a pumkin war now😉 @foxyspirit

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha pumpkin wars! Just don't smash my pumpkins yet, I need them for halloween :P Could you tag me when you do post it please? I would love to see.

Hmmmmm! Pumpkins are so rewarding to grow! And the growth rate you recorded on that one In 5 days is incredible!!! You sound like me - I often surprise myself with the unlabeled plants I’ve grown -heehee!

Good to know I am not the only one with the labeling problem :P There are a few with the same problem.

They have grown incredibly fast. I havent been there in a few days, I have been so busy, couldn't get to it. Later today I will. Wondering how big they got. Always see a difference after its been a few days. :p

Check this out @foxyspirit You can eat pumpkin flowers I googled it... Let me know if you do.
https://goldcoastlocal.wordpress.com/can-you-eat-pumpkin-flowers-3/
(BTW: thanks for the tag)

I don't think this dude from giphy is eating the right kind lol
giphy.gif

You can eat the flowers! The male flowers are the ones to eat cause the females give the fruit. Pick them once the pumpkins start growing and throw them in a salad :D

I want to eat flowers like that. I'd get paid to do that at weddings :D

How can you tell the difference?

I'd get paid to do that at weddings :D

what?

The female flowers have like a little bulb at the end where it would form the pumpkin whereas the male doesn't. It is just flat.

And for the wedding thing, when he spits out the petals it looks like confetti lol.

Fascinating, nature is amazing! I am not good at gardening, but I’m surely good at eating pumpkins, I love them baked 😋... and pumpkin cheese cake 🍰

OOOOOOH pumpkin cheese cake. YUMMMMMMMMMMMM! I can't wait! Oh the smell of spices filling the rooms in the house. Ok now I really can't wait :p

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 117 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you! Nice seeing you again :)

Yay! Isnt it fun to find veggies growing!
I am also bad at labeling my plants. I am always sure I will remember what they are, but I never do!

I know, I do that every time! And always forget. It's ok though, the surprise is pretty awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72