Gardening Science Series : Introduction to the Series - Twins of Different Mothers

in #gardeningscience6 years ago

Borage Blues and Pinks.jpg
Borage in Bloom in my Garden

To my fellow Steemians
Hello and Thank You for your Readership

First off, thanks to all of you that read my posts. The value of the fact that you are actually reading my writing, goes well beyond the value that I get from upvotes and re-steems (not of course diminishing those).
Comments from you also go next in line to the actual reading.
All are welcome and much appreciated.

I think a lot on what I can write about and post to Steemit that will, not only be informative, but will be practical and engaging to the reader. After all, if I lose you within the first paragraph, then what is the value of that?

As you can tell from my previous posts, I am an avid gardener. However, I am also a lay scientist. I studied and have received my college degree in two of the fields of science - with physics, chemistry and the earth sciences as my forte'. Over the years I continued my studies through experience and training in disciplines that taught portions of air quality, physics, mathematics, geomorphology and geology, along with food science, soil science, and botany. However, the one place where I use them all, are in my gardens. I know, seems far-fetched, but over the course of my gardening life, that knowledge has come to play and assist me in creating healthy environments for the plants that I grow and those also that I harvest.

With that in mind, I am planning on writing a series of related posts that help gardeners understand the science that supports their gardening and to give practical advice on how to work that science into a garden plan that works for them. I hope it is not boring - though to some I am sure it will be. And I do hope that I get lots of comments that point out areas that need more investigation, that may be incorrect, or even just some 'old wive's tales' that we can try to fractionalize (is that a word?), into the science of their deeper meanings.

I hope also, to offer you informative and engaging articles that will illustrate how science and gardening are twins of different mothers - they symbiotically work together. In addition, maybe you will find that it helps you to improve the health of your gardens and the production and nutritional value of your harvests. I am calling this series #gardeningscience .

Garden pics 016.jpg
Grass Roots Pulled from an Overgrown Garden Bed

The first of the series will be posted later this weekend and I will try to post thereafter, at least twice a month, if not more. I am looking at some areas of concentration such as:

  • Sampling techniques,
  • Water processes,
  • Basic soil science for your gardens,
  • The critters that live and work in your garden soil,
  • How plants determine what soils you need,
  • Diseases and pests of the soil and gardens
  • Plants and planting methods
  • And more.

Any science terms that could be unfamiliar, I will define. I will also add in resource references to any charts, pictures and information that is not original - not from my hand. If you would like to comment or request that we touch on some areas that interest you, please let me know.

Thanks again for reading and I hope this becomes a valuable reference for other gardeners that could help to make your gardening easier and more productive with a lot less stress. I will also be putting portions of these posts on my gardening website that is at present, still in its' infancy. This can be found at:

http://www.feelgoodgardening.com

20151010_142019.jpg
A Walk in the Countryside

Note: All photos in the post are my own.
You are free to use them but please give reference to where they come from.

Sort:  

I am really fascinated with the science of the soil and growing things. I'll be watching for your posts!

Working on the next post. Making it so it's not boring to tears is the hardest part.

Great to hear lilymars, looking forward to reading your series.

It'll be great to hear from your experience.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by LilyMars from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @lilymars! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76