Do tears make the garden grow better?

in #gardening7 years ago

I was checking my tomatoes and hoping they would ripen and not fall off the vine. Blight has almost destroyed the lower vines. I saw a tear fall onto a leaf and sit in a small round bubble for a few seconds before falling down into the bucket. I hadn't realized I was crying. I took a deep breath and gave into the tears. That leaf and the one next to it got wet with the tears that just wouldn't stop. My twisted sense of humor kept flashing pictures in my mind of the plant reaching up and grabbing the tears like a thirsty wanderer in the desert. I picked off more leaves and watered them then went back into the house. As I sat on the couch the roommates cat jumped up and started meowing as he put his paw on my arm. He may not be my cat but he knew. My cat was not happy that he was next to me in her spot and she started growling from the chair. I shushed them both and gave each a good petting. The tears stopped. I am ok.
I have had a bad few months. Several large appliances have broken or started showing serious signs of going out. The airconditioner exploded during the severe heat wave just after the 4th of July. The wiring for the window unit was damaged but it was connected to circuit breakers and they will need to be replaced but the rest of the house is ok. My used television has been trying to stop working for four months. My van has started having problems with moisture in the fuel line because I don't drive unless absolutly necessary. My laptop is worn out. A person who knows about these things says the mother board is starting to fail and the keys stick and skip. I have repainted the symbols with white nail polish as several have been worn off. But my tears weblighted.jpgre not because of the troubles. They were a reaction to the help I have received from friends. Part of it in person. Part of it with money pledged to a fund raiser and the one that made me cry for a second time in a few days was from the roommate. He gave me his piggy bank full of change. It wasn't a lot but it just stunned me. He and I have only known each other for about nine months. He works sixteen hours a day so I hardly see him. I will make sure he eats well. It isn't much but it is what I can do. Also he likes my cooking. I already spoil his cat. I am the person who helps others. I may not have money to give but I can cook, pick up stuff they didn't know they needed, listen on the phone when they need to vent, and offer to help them hide the bodies if it gets that bad. I am not comfortable receiving help. It is a humbling experience. I am pretty sure that my tomatoes will get a lot more watering from my tears. They may not be happy ones but they are not sad ones either. I might get the answer to my question. I need to keep things in prespective. I have friends with worse problems. That and the news of the problems in Texas will help me do just that.

Sort:  

I don't know about the other things, but you should be able to solve the problem with water in the gas in your car by putting a bottle of Heet or other gas line water remover in the gas tank. It will absorb the water in the gas and the car will run better. The stuff is usually only a couple of dollars a bottle. You can get it at walmart, the hardware store, or a car parts store.

My brother mechanic says to not use that. He recommends using gas with ethanol. The problem is with it sitting for 3 to 5 days. Thanks for offering the advice.

Can you get gas with ethanol where you live?

Yes. It is usually cheaper than the plain regular. My van is a 6 cylinder so it likes the ethanol.

Blight sucks! I'm glad you found a dap of humor in the situation. How very sweet of your roommate. Those are the things that touch our hearts.

You are clearly a giver....even to the cat...i surely understand...i have had more gardens fail than live...I gave up on blueberries altogether...never could get them to grow...I wish I had the words or mechanic wisdom to give but definite deficiencies on my part. ...I can pray ..so I will do that...sounds like you have one wonderful roommate. :)
more blessings coming...I know!
Melissa

Congratulations @zombiedollmommy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 56792.82
ETH 2874.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67