You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Community garden plot update

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Love me a fellow yooper. I'm tempted to upvote every thing you post lol not to mention I sell fertilizer for a career and can't garden this year due to being single full time dad. lol good stuff ambery hope it yields great! Get some Humic acid in there "totally organic it's a carbon source and then micro biology in the soil will flourish" trust me ;)

Sort:  

And make sure those taters get plenty of phos early and calcium to last the year. Nitrogen weekly spoon feed until die off. Don't over feed the Petioles late tho. U want the potatos to die off early enough to bulk..... You'll get lots of spuds. I niche in potato agronomy lol and we are in most the potato farms in the Midwest. Any questions u ever have feel free to ask

Well, I put bunny poop on them, does that help? :-)

Yes. But not as much as u think. But for sure yes. free source of especially nitrogen. Might not be most efficient. But. U got bunnys use it lol! Depending how much u put down in a small spot and how consistent is big too ur def building a good long term base. Nutrients release and tie up and become unavailable etc. it's wild the chemistry involved and positive negative charges just. Yeah ;)

is that positive/negative charge thing called cations?

Yes. Well cations would be positive and anions negative. But yes

This is the reason for "tie up" so to speak. Molecules attract. Soil is negative charged and has lots of "exchange sites". And so on gets pretty in depth when u tak farming these days.

your lucky you get to play with brix meters

Yeah, gardening does take a fair amount of time. Being a single dad takes a lot of time. They don't always mix as well as we would like.
I'm pretty sure that I can get humic acid at the local hydroponics store, I'll have to check it out.

Please don't pay 100 dollars. Please. If ur anywhere near esky I can get it to u for a fraction those stores are crazy!!!!!! We sell 100,000s of gallons to farms. Even if I have to ship it to u don't please don't pay 100 for a gallon of anything :) pay 10 to 20 otherwise reply on a post of mine I'll help u out

I'm in the Iron Mountain area.
I can't imagine paying 100 dollars for a gallon of any fertilizer. Even if I could imagine it, I couldn't afford it.

Yeah online it's 25 a quart 100 a gallon. lol and they'll tell u to use some tiny rate to boot. Check ur local place. If u can't buy a GAllon for 25 or less don't. Sooner the better with potato as it helps the potato utilize phos. Super hard nutrient to get and wants it early

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64625.84
ETH 3233.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65