You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Journal – Photos and thoughts on gratitude

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

Welcome back, @lightsplasher. I'm a bit of a hermit, too, with tendencies towards melancholy... so I understand. This is compounded by a kind of mid-life existential crisis that has me questioning if being on Steemit is the best use of my time as a writer (due to diminishing returns, spammy comments and the sense one is speaking into the void, at times).

All the more reason, that I appreciate your reminder to be grateful, for the small and big things, alike (because, in a sense, they are one...)

Since, I've been fasting the month of Ramadan, I feel a heightened awareness towards food; I really savor the taste after breaking my fast.

Also, the gifts we take for granted, like good health, the love we have in our lives, the natural world.

Looking forward to Washington DC, within the next week or so, to tend to our summer garden, there.

Namaste, Yahia

If the only prayer you ever say in your entire life is thank you, it will be enough. - Meister Eckhart

Sort:  

Well hopefully time spent on Steemit will be productive in the long run, although there are more lucrative ways of generating a passive income. I have no complaints really with everything that has happened for me. I've found that just trying to make a living with writing, graphics or any client service work can be tough though. Even independent software development has its drawbacks. I feel like I have been very blessed and have found a way that fits with my personality and provides me the time I like for introspection and contemplation.

Thank you feels like a wonderful prayer in your body. Namaste.

Yes, I realize it's unbecoming to complain... As you say, making a living as a freelance writer, alone, is not exactly easy, either. One might be paid hundreds for an article or one might be paid nothing, in the case of literary magazines, other than exposure.

'Time for introspection and contemplation' is, ultimately, invaluable and that is why we are, in fact, lucky to by here.

Stay blessed and I wish you a pleasant and restorative weekend _/|\_

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85