Backyard Bounty! What's in your Backyard?

in #gardening7 years ago

The Homestead Life!
We really take this homesteading life for granted sometimes! I had a very short walk through my backyard and collected enough food in my basket for a complete meal if I wanted!

IMG_20170625_142040657_TOP.jpg

I was just planning on harvesting a little kale from our garden... Then I saw chanterelle mushrooms popping out of our lawn! I had to harvest them too! While scurrying through the weeds to get another orange cap, I found a hidden duck nest with two eggs!

IMG_20170627_175453688.jpg

Three of our ducks that sneak out of their enclosure every day and wander our yard eating bugs. They are pretty cute and are helping to keep the pest population down so I haven't clipped their wings. These eggs were a nice surprise they left for me!

IMG_20170626_184201564.jpg

We had the chanterelle mushrooms in a side with our dinner. We sauteed with fresh squash from our friends garden that we had bartered for our kale and beets, added onions, garlic and more butter. It was so good I could have eaten just that for dinner!

We really are lucky to have so much bounty in our very own backyard! What is in your backyard? Share with us down below!

Thanks for reading! Be sure to check out all our homestead videos on YouTube!
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLmNsCPmvFOirHTzjN3ok9GlHY5bepddiq
wholesomerootsfarmstead.jpg
*****Please Follow, Resteem, Upvote and Reply down below! Thanks!*****

Sort:  

I have never found edible mushrooms here. Yours look wonderful! How do you know how old the duck eggs are? I float my chicken eggs when I find them in a new place. If they float, I don't eat them.

Nice. We don't personally grow anything due to our mountainous area but we buy into a small farmers crop down the road. It's nice knowing where your veggies are grown and without chemicals.

I bet there are some wild edibles out there! that is awesome too! Yes, it is!

Hey Rose good to see you...Ya im sooo lost right now..lol I actually signed up the same day you posted that video about joining.. but i havent had a chance to actually start using it till now. Do you know of a good steemit for dummies tutorial? Take care, see ya soon! Im gonna try to resteem you... hope i get it right!

I am learning by playing with it, lol

We were late getting ours started, but it is coming along other than the corn. We ended up with four plus inches of rain last weekend and it fell over.

So much rain lately has caused many challenges!

Nice. The food looks really good.

Thank you! It was

Amazing! Follow the trail of abundance and one thing keeps leading to the next offering from the universe. Glad to be connected and excited to learn more about your homesteading journey since my fiance and I are just getting started on 11 acres. Enjoy the day!

It really is awesome! Thanks for joining in!

We have several types of mushrooms but I don't know if they are edible. I hope to learn more about mushrooms because we love them. We planted lots of veggies back in March but none of the plants ever grew much and they all died last month so our garden needs an overhauling. I learned that some of our 'weeds' are actually very useful medicinal plants so that's cool. We can't wait for our new chicks to grow up and start surprising us with eggs.

You must really learn about mushrooms, not many are edible so just focus on the ones that are easy to identify with no poisonous lookalikes! My garden is full of weeds! the eggs will be great!

Beautiful post with some down to earth knowledge. Love the idea of a complete meal coming out of one's own yard! Fantastic. My boy, who's 5, and I plant a garden every year mainly to let him , learn and get dirty but it also provides us with some food that we grew and let's him know where food comes from! One day I hope to incorporate some animals. Land is in the plan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53622.13
ETH 2208.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29