You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gardening On A Budget: How To Regrow Vegetables From Kitchen Scraps (FREE SBD GIVEAWAY!)

in #gardening6 years ago

Garlic and onions is something we often use daily. Let me tell you about the story when I tried re planting a potato. I saw a potato which is starting to grow in our refrigerator. I could see the stem like stuff growing out of it. I figured to give it a chance at life to propagate. My aunt had a bitter gourd plant growing in front of our house which is thriving. I thought it would be best to plant the potato near the plant as the soil is good. Left it there for a couple of weeks and the leaves from the potato was thriving. Now how do I know if the potato is ready to harvest. I checked the net to find out. I read that the leaves would start dying once it is ready for harvest. After days the leaves died out and I was excited to check if there are any potatoes. I uprooted the dead plant and found nothing. I was disappointing but not as disappointed as my aunt. Her bitter gourd started to die out and there were a lot of small vegetables already. It seems I have damaged the roots of her plant when I planted the potato near it. Maybe when I uprooted the potato it did more damage. She was puzzled and I could not tell her that I accidentally killed her plant. Shhhhh. I'll plant her a new bitter gourd instead.

Sort:  

Lol. I won’t tell. ;0)
I think it’s weird that the leaves flourished, but that there were no potatoes..

It was weird I dug it up and no potatoes which was disappointing. I will try again though away from my aunt's plants.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33