Gardening Tip # 1: Creating Natural Habitat In Any Type of Garden

in #gardening6 years ago


As an organic gardener, I need all the help I can get when it comes to pest control in the garden. One way that I achieve this is by making my gardens inviting to beneficial critters such as frogs & snakes. This works just as well in raised beds as it does flower beds, vegetables gardens and even greenhouses.

One thing I like to do is collect shallow glass dishes for use in the garden. I tuck these dishes all around the garden to collect water. In addition to this I also add branches, logs & stones in various corners so that our friendly critters have shelter from the sun and a place to hide.

In the greenhouse we've got a small family of garter snakes living happily, I've got a small corner that's got some vegetation and an old ceramic pot that I tend to "leave alone" so I don't disturb them or scare myself :)

It really works!


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca

Photo copyright: @walkerland

WalkerLand_3-e1458831620676.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

So cool! First dTube video?!

I took this one in the summer, I have a few more I would like to get up here. I just figured out how to get them from the video camera, onto the computer and then converted and compressed so I could upload them on my terrible internet connection. I think it took me two hours to do this one video (lol). :)

Thank you for sharing! I have a 4x8 raised bed in the community garden. You have inspired me to add a space for all the awesome garden guardians!!

Oh wonderful! Thanks for sharing, that makes me happy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60756.34
ETH 3373.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51