Garden update. Tomatoes and Peppers are Rocking!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening6 years ago

A little update on the garden. Before I left for work tonight I took a walk out in the back. I didn't go out to the garden all weekend and boy did it grow.

Tomatoes

The tomatoes on the right are called 4th of July and they will probably be ready by then also. The cherry tomatoes are on the left and are flowering but not producing yet. In with the tomatoes you can see marigolds, basil and a bunch of onions. We use lots of onions and planted accordingly. Here is what we are working with.

Tomatoes.jpg

Peppers

The Peppers are doing even better than the tomatoes. The left of the picture shows some regular Bell Peppers. The top right is Sweet Banana Peppers. The bottom right is Jalapenos. In with the Peppers we also planted Cabbage that you can see in the background. Looks like something has been nibbling on the cabbage leaves.

Peppers.jpg

Cucumbers and Summer Squash

The last couple years our Cucumbers have gotten blight. This year they are looking much better. The summer squash are also coming along nicely and I should be eating them in the next week or so. Can't wait to get my first harvest of fresh vegetables. They taste sooo much better than anything in the store and IMO better than stuff from the farmers market.

IMG_20180624_151619971.jpg

IMG_20180624_151603405.jpg

Last but not least, Kohlrabi

This is some of my favorite things to eat right out of the ground. You can eat these like apples. I planted them with the cucumbers, radishes and lettuce. They are getting big and I didn't plant nearly enough of them. These will last about a week, if I take my time eating them. lol

IMG_20180624_151650261.jpg

I didn't get any pics of my potato patch and my corn is miserable as usual. I'll post updates of other stuff in the garden later this week.

Hopefully you enjoyed this update of my garden. More to come as the summer progresses. Thanks for looking.

If you have any interest in Silver, Gold, Bullion or coin collecting, check out #Steemsilvergold. A great group of folks ready to help with any questions you may have. Give them a look.

giphy.gif

Sort:  

Everybody needs to realize that they can Grow their own Food and eat Healthy.....................@vgholdingsllc

I wish more people would grow their own food. It's good knowing, no matter what happens, I will be able to feed myself and my family.

The plants are looking good @vgholdingsllc! We just your tomatoes and peppers staked up not to long ago. We are still waiting on the cucumbers and squash to start producing, but we have had a few banana peppers and a one of my favorites fried green tomatoes.

Have you ever tried Dragon's Egg cucumbers before? This is the first year we are trying them after seeing them, but have not heard much about them.

I love some fried green tomatoes too! I've never heard of the Dragon Egg Cucumber. You'll have to post up some pics when they start growing. I did plant Dragon Gourds this year. Never heard of them either but they are coming along nicely. I'll post them up when they begin to fruit.

Oh and I'm heading over to submit some yellow from the garden in your contest. Thanks for stopping by @knowledge-seeker.

Awesome, I look forward to seeing it!

We ordered several different seeds through Baker's Creek and they looked and sounded interesting, so we thought we would give them a try. I will for make sure to post about it when they start coming in. Hopefully, it will not be too much longer!!

wonerful could you please follow me if you dont mind

Many people will be happy to follow you @gug711 if you are putting out Content that people see value in...........

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62781.37
ETH 2461.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64