Witches Broom in Roses -- Look evil...

in #gardening8 years ago

Monster Rose - That I thought. Suddenly, one branch started growing crazy... Has anyone seen rose growing like this? I felt like growing a monster rose... I was afraid to touch, so just letting them grow.

Well, that was "Rose Rosette disease" and "virus". Read more... Rose Rpsette

I should dig deep and out the rose to protect other flowers. But I had the rose more than a year. I was sad to get rid of... I removed the rose cane from very low root area. So far, others are okay. But they look really evil, don't that?

Rose1:
1
Rose2: This looks normal.
6
Rose3: ... growing monster roses.
3
Rose4: Suddenly, deep red canes started growing...
4
Rose5:
2
Rose6: After cut from root.
8

Sort:  

It turned into an evil Alice in Wonderland hedge! I wonder if it would keep growing that way.
The botanical link you posted says it is ok to use as a tool on purpose. Want to trade some steem for a few cuttings?

Witch's broom is definitely evil! To make sure that the witches broom doesn't spread, clean your clippers after you cut the bad stalks off. It was good that you cut off the bad part from below. ...good luck!

Thank you! :) So far, growing okay. And other flowers around the rose look normal. ;)

Wow, I haven't seen anything like this. Really does look like an evil Alice in Wonderland hedge like bbqbear mentioned. Looks creepy and cool at the same time. Thanks for sharing this, I enjoyed looking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59433.20
ETH 2442.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44