Getting into Homesteading

in #gardening5 years ago

I have been wanting to get back into my homesteading for a long time now.
I used to do it at my old place which was my brothers home, but when he said he was planning on selling I finished off my last winter crop and put it aside. Now I have brought my own home I'm really looking forward to getting back into growing my own veggies and fruit again.

I have a large block at 900 sqm with a large front and back yard, I'm planning on making the front yard look nice with a nice array of garden plants which attract natural wild life. It will be a nice area down the track to put a hammock and unwind.

The back yard I'm planning to turn most of it into a garden full of fruits and vegetables, as I do spend most of my grocery shopping money on them.

However as you will see from the photos below I do have a fair bit of work to put into both the front and back yards. The house was rented out before I moved in, so both the front and back yard have basically been neglected over the years and have been shown no love.
No care was taken to manage the three corner jacks(caltrop) so I'm going to have to manage this as I go.
Also the soil is rather dry and looking unhealthy so I will have to throw some compost and cow poop out to get the soil to a better quality. Luckily my brother works on a dairy farm so I can get him to bring some bags of cow poop, which will be good for the soil.
It's going to be a bit of work and I will be getting a few tonnes of loam and some raised garden beds happening by the shed and along the fence lines, this way I can start growing stuff as the winter season comes in and by the time next summer rolls around the rest of the soil should be looking much better for gardening.

Here is some pictures of the front yard.


IMG_0178.JPG
 
IMG_0179.JPG

I figure a good start for the front garden is to water it, and start to make the soil more healthy again.
I will also be planting Half the garden as Australian natives, which will be good for attracting wildlife and also mean that I won't have to water them so often as they are much more hearty and drought resistant. They will go around the fence line and provide a little bit more privacy as they grow above the fence line.
At the base of the taller plants will be the shorter plants which grow about 1m high and then at the base of them will be the small ones which don't grow above half a meter.

The plants will encroach into the lawn area but will make nice scenery while I'm sitting on my hammock out the front.

Here are the first two of my Australian natives, ones called Evelyn's Coronet and the other is called firecracker. They are both from the Grevillea family.


IMG_0177.JPG

Here are some photos of what they will grow up like. the first is firecracker.



src
 

src

Here are some photos of the back yard.
As you can see I have plenty of room so I will be able to get pleanty of fruits and veggies going.
I will probably get some plants going along the fence lines which will provide some extra privacy, but I haven't really thought too much about the back yard at this stage.


IMG_0173.JPG
 
IMG_0174.JPG

In the first image of the back yard the fenced area on the left is a big enclosure down the side of the house, where dogs have been kept previously.
I'm going to put shade cloth up and a misting kit so I can have an area for all my herbs to grow. I will also be using that area for establishing seedlings and nurturing them until they are ready for planting in the ground.

So as you can see I have my work cut out for me, it will be good to see the place transform over the next 2 years.
I think I prefer having a yard like this as it will be really rewarding to turn it from a parched baron landscape into a green lush garden.

Sort:  

You have an enclosed front! So jealous! Ours is open plan, so no privacy there.
Sounds like you've got a lot of fun work ahead.
Have you heard of Provenance nursery at Salisbury? It does South Australian, in particular Adelaide region, natives at just $3 a pop for the most part. Might be worth a look for your front.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah the enclosed year was one of the many reasons I picked this house.

No I haven't heard of Provenance, it's not far from where I live too so will check it out on the weekend :)
Thanks

Awesome!

I'll look forward to seeing how it evolves over time.

What a beautiful blank canvas you have! It will be perfect for what you describe. I look forward to seeing the progress :D

yep time to put the work horse(me) in action

Wow, what a canvas! Super inspiring that you want to do something with this. I'm excited to see picture updates as it progresses.

If you haven't seen it already, the following (free) documentary has some very interesting information about limiting (almost removing) the need to water in a very natural way. Highly recommended.
https://www.backtoedenfilm.com/watchfreeorganicgardeningmovie.html

Awesome thanks m8, I will be watching this tonight before bed :)

Looks like you have a bit of work ahead of you, but on the bright side after all that effort you'll be prouder than usual of the results XD

I have to agree with the other commenters as my first thought was 'what a wonderful blank canvas, but great minds, you know...!

I can't wait to see photos of you in the hammock, I know it's a long way off but I think your plan for the front garden is awesome and you'll be in that hammock sooner than you think.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 137 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63463.10
ETH 3243.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45