Garden Attacked by More Varmints: Damage Report

in #gardening6 years ago

The garden is still under attack, with the latest pest being the pretty red cardinals pecking at the tomatoes.

It's not just the red birds; with this bountiful garden I've been feeding a groundhog, some deer, a bunch of butterfly larvae and stink bugs for a few weeks already.

The deer inspired me to wrap fencing around the melon patch and over the broccolini that they had grazed on, but something came along and managed to take a few bites out of this, what would have certainly been a melon, right through the fence:

IMG_0185.jpg

I'm guessing that this was done by the same varmint (groundhog) that did similar damage to these green tomatoes:

IMG_0159.jpg

In another nearby bed, somebody (deer again) snipped the sweet potatoes, so I laid some old fencing over them for protection:

IMG_0110.jpg

The broccolini in their little compound, safe from the deer...

IMG_0107 (1).jpg

... were then devoured by insect larvae (caterpillars):


IMG_4408.jpg

Following the caterpillar attack, the broccolini have now dared to grow new leaves:

IMG_4411 (1).jpg

Back to the tomatoes. I found more chicken wire, because when they began to turn red, the Arkansas Traveler tomatoes were being pecked by birds (cardinals):

IMG_4409.jpg

The Successful Carrot Harvest


There is good news from the garden though. The deer were munching the greens from the carrot patch, so I finally just pulled them all up. Here they are after being rinsed in the garden sink. Biggest carrots I've ever grown!
IMG_0071.jpg

That's the latest from the garden, thanks for reading this damage report. This is the first time the cardinals have joined in the destruction of the garden. I'm disappointed with them, and the cat, felis useless, has been no help. Yesterday she caught a cicada, and was very proud of herself. No picture.


Screen Shot 2018-07-27 at 12.33.06 PM.png


Click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

It's tough keeping critters out of your garden.. The chicken wire seems like the most promising and economical deterrent for the various mammals. You could try purchasing and releasing indigenous predator bugs such as Praying Mantis and Ladybugs to take out the stinkbugs and such if that is available and allowed where you are.

I can see that I'm going to need more chicken wire fencing, next year.
I've planted a lot of flowers in the vegetable garden this year, which are supposed to attract natural predators to help control pests, maybe they have helped somewhat.

My main issue is rabbits. They are ravenous creatures.

I don't think I have rabbits anymore, my biggest cat has actually eaten them all-- she's not completely useless I suppose!

Looks like your garden is a great food source for everyone XD

Yay for the carrot harvest at least! My youngest loves the "carrot with legs" :D

The carrots, I zoomed in on them trying to make them look bigger, but they took many gallons of water and effort, I expected some of them to be bigger than this!

I hadn't noticed the little legs on that one until now, not sure how I missed it!

Nice carrot crop. Bet they are tasty. The one looks like a chubby little cartoon character with skinny legs.
I love it, Felis useless, needs a bit more training. Good luck on that...."it's a cat". Used to have a cat that would watch the others bring home snakes, and then emulate by bringing a worm. Just not cut out for being tough, I guess.

Bummer everyone is competing with your for food. Does make it tough. Never heard of the Cardinals being a pain though. Caterpillars, yes, redbirds, not so much. Good luck in all things gardenly annoying. (We're hit hard with the Marmarated stinkbug and saw-butt fruitfly. Pests one and all).

This is the way it is with a totally organic garden, no pesticides means I should grow enough to feed everyone, but that means more work and more water than I've been willing to devote to it.
Yes this is the first year that the cardinals have been a problem, they used to be cool.

Ohhh the little greedy monsters, hope you get rid of them.

I'm thinking that if I get rid of the edible plants in the garden then the wild moochers will have to go somewhere else for handouts. Next year, more chicken wire and maybe even some mesh cloth to keep the butterflies from laying eggs on the broccolini.

We learn something new each year, make a note Incase you forget:)

You are a good gardener,you have grown lots of vegetables,but felt very sorry for you for the damages.

I don't mind sharing, but the wild animals find my garden to be an easy snack more than I like.

Those critters have a good taste in food. Very kind of you to share with them as they have to eat too. Seriously though I don't know how to solve your problem but it sounds like another chapter in The Saga of Paul versus the critters. May the best one win. @therealpaul

i think gardening is the best way to connect your self with nature...😌😌😌😌

oh no not again lot of damage this time but great to see successful carrot harvest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44