Sharing Corn Seeds

in #gardening7 years ago

IMG_4498.JPG

Today I decided to finish up the work left to do with our Corn we grew. The colours have been quite amazing and lots of friends and family have asked for some. Today I put together many little baggies of corn seeds, separated by colours and labelled with my adorable label maker!

IMG_4501.JPG

Yes, I know, I SHOULD use paper envelopes, but I ran out, and I know, I COULD just write on the bag what the seeds are, but where's the fun in that?!?!

IMG_4503.JPG

Anyway, I had this extremely beautiful dark red ear of corn, it was my favourite by far, so I divided it up to share.

IMG_4516.JPG

I kept lots for myself too, thankfully you can get quite a few seeds from even just one ear of corn!

IMG_4499.JPG

I got these seeds at a seedy Sunday event and they were labelled as Painted Mountain, which I'm guessing is right, considering the awesome colours. I separated the colours though because I have no idea if they'll grow true to the parent, or if they'll carry the genes from all the other colours. Either way it should be fun!

IMG_4495.JPG

IMG_4504.JPG

IMG_4515.JPG

I can't wait to see what everyone grows with these seeds! :)

I also grew some Flint corn!

IMG_4505.JPG

I also found this cool site:

https://www.rareseeds.com/store/vegetables/corn/

Their list of corn is amazing! I see black inca and blue popcorn and glass gem in my future!!! :)

IMG_4514.PNG

IMG_4518.PNG

IMG_4517.PNG

If you are interested in growing this corn and would like some seeds, I am totally willing to send you some if you're not too far away. The cost of a stamp is a small price for sharing an awesome heirloom plant!!! :)

Sort:  

Oh my gosh GORGEOUS! I grew glass gem two years ago and fell in love. I didn't get to have a garden this part spring but am already amped for the next season to come. Do you still have some? Can I pay you some steem to mail me a baggie or 2? It would be pretty cool to say I bought the seeds from a fellow Steemer. Or like @anise said I could send you some herb seeds in return. I have quite an extensive medicinal herb seed collection! ( :

I used mine to make cornmeal and grits. Never knew I liked grits until then.

That sounds fabulous!!! :) I would love some herb seeds, what have you got?

Oh boy I have a lot...
Where are you located? I can then give you a list of ones that'll be perennials for you.

Hi there, I'm in Edmonton
I swear I responded ages ago but it's not here now! LoL

No worries I've been crazy with all the crazy things that go on in the fall. I'll look into your area and see what seeds would be good to send you ( :

That sounds awesome!!! :) There's a few months til Spring anyway so no rush I guess! LoL


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2000 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

peace to the corn planters and harvesters... my boss grows Oneida white corn / upvoted / resteemed (-:

Awesome thank you! :) I'm getting a bit corn obsessed myself HaHa

I like to grow a corn like yours but im in philippines.I need to find it here.thanks for sharing your post. @theneohippy.

Curious...what do you use these coloured corns for besides popcorn? Animal feed perhaps...I know my hens would eat anything!

Chickens would love it indeed! And it's so nutritious! I'm going to attempt to make it into corn nuts tomorrow :) got some I'm going to soak overnight then roast with some seasoning tomorrow! Yum!

Could you eat it like sweet corn, or is it usually used dry? Just trying to decide if I want to devote the time and effort to growing it. It sure is pretty, especially that "glass gem"!

They say you CAN eat it fresh when it's young but I think it's usually used as a dry corn

I would like to try then. If you still have some left...perhaps we could do a trade. I have some heirloom beans for drying and tomatoes if you're interested.

That sounds lovely!! I also have those black beans and tons of arugula too if you're interested

Great! I will get a package together for you. I also have amaranth (intense purple), if you're interested. Do you want any flower seeds? How do you want to trade addresses...email, chat? I dont know if I want to post it here....

Email I guess? Maybe I'll delete this message after you respond that you got it?

Yes!! :) Food IS free and should always be that way! We could all grow some and share and we could have food all year long!

I upvoted and comment for you. Please upvote and comment for helping me grow @mdfoysal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64629.11
ETH 2670.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81