Our reluctant response to Cape Towns Drought - First SalvosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago

Well, a week to winter and we have not even had 20 millimetres of rain. Our dams are down to 11% usable water and we face the very real prospect of having no sewerage and running water in taps.

20170520_083103.jpg
3500 liter tank for capturing rainwater

Now I was not terribly enamored when I found this laying in the backyard, and my gal's statement "I bought it....you install it"
So Saturday morning I set about preparing the platform for the tank

20170520_083054.jpg

I purchased sixteen 400 x 400 x 35mm concrete pavers and cleared and leveled the area and started placing the pavers so..

20170520_112007.jpg

Only to realise that these were the wrong pavers.... not concrete but a mixture of cement and clay. These would not support 3500 Kg's of weight.

So back to the drawing board, cart all the pavers back into the boot of my car and back to the building depot for a return and refund.

Yesterday morning (Tuesday) I saw that rain was expected Wednesday and Friday so quickly phoned my line manager and told him I was taking a days leave to install the water tank.

He laughed and said..."Best of luck if you are doing it alone. You have a lot of work to do"

I managed to find the correct concrete slabs 600mm x 600mm x 50mm in size. When I told the yard manager I was putting them in my boot he said my car would never cope, took mercy on me and had them delivered for free.
I then went looking for the connection pipes... bloody hell, do you have any idea how many similar looking piece of platic there is all with subtly different use cases? Anyway in the end I left the store with a variety of connectors and elbows and glue and 6 meters of piping.

20170523_131709.jpg

Now I am not a spring chicken and I can tell you in no uncertain terms that by the time I had completed the above work I was ready to fall over from pain and exhaustion. Two fellows carried the slabs one by one onto a trolley and placed them on my property, and then I had to carry them to the back on my own... a carry of 20 meters or so... then level, pick up change level replace ... until the spirit level showed level in all directions.

Cutting holes in an aluminium gutter and attaching down pipe fittings while balancing tentatively on a ladder was time consuming and tedious. To be truthful I was too tired and impatient to take a lot of pictures of the progress I was making so how about we skip to the crux of the matter ... the almost completed installation..

20170523_150432.jpg
Tank in place with the gutter feed connected and entering the tank through a hole I cut in the lid

Unfortunately I had the tank close to the wall so could not fit the overflow pipe at the back so decided to fit it at the front. My good lady was not impressed so I will be doing this over again on the weekend as she advised that she found a different fitting which we can use at the back of the tank.

20170523_160026.jpg
Despite being sore and exhausted I was very proud of what I had achieved

The overflow still needs to be extended down the garden wall to the drain but that is simple work ... and this stage we may not even need it this winter.

Thanks for reading my 'brag' post ... I sometimes believe I may yet have a bit of the handyman in me...somewhere

Sort:  

You have every right to brag. Excellent job and I hope you've recovered by now.

You are kind @kiwideb {smile}... the really sad thing is the two cold fronts which were forecast managed to dump less than 1mm rain ..and less than 15 cm's water in our tank. I have indeed recovered, and subsequently moved the over flow pipe to the back of the tank as my girl said it was 'unsightly' where I had it

At least the job is now done, so when and if the rain comes, you'll get the benefit. It may not help much this time round, but is an asset to help with next summer. Fingers crossed that there is some rain over the winter...
I'm glad you know to bow to your girl in matters of taste. After all, you know she has good taste - she said Yes!

oh stop IT @kiwideb {puffs out chest ... struts around the room} ... {thinks} THAT comment deserves an upvote !!

It deserves 2! So I gave it one as well ;-)
Oh, to be a fly on the wall {calculates time difference, probably incorrectly} especially if the room you're strutting around is the office.

Nice bit of work you carried out there. Now lets hope you guys will get enough rain not to need it...

AHA !! You hit the nail on the head... may we never need it. Thanks for the kind words. For the record the sky has been overcast all day, rain wind blowing but not a drop of rain. We live in hope.

We left Cape Town a year ago, and I cannot believe it has gotten so much worse. Hectic, but good job on installing that tank. Hubby also did that, and installed another one to catch our backwash pool water. Saved us a ton of water. Well done!

Now why on earth would you leave Cape Town? Thanks for the response {meanders off to read @fernandam's blog}

I ask myself that very question every day! It was all my hubby's fault :)

So where did you end up?? Hopefully not Gauteng...unless of course your man is earning 6 digits a month...

Still living in Portugal :)

Ok. We will be leaving to live in Europe in a couple of years. At this stage it looks like Italy. I popped over to your blog.... Saw Portugal...followed you...

Here in Lithuania, there was a snow 2 weeks ago. I posted here a blog with a picture of snowman which we made with my children and it was decorated with a spring flowers:)

Cool , I will go look for it. Snow would help us so much right now. That is the best way to get water into our dams.

So it looks like your drought is still with you. How tough! But what a great job in installing your tank. I hope it gets filled up soon.

just above 4% usable water and not a rain cloud forecast for weeks.

Wow. I hope that your temperatures have come down some, at least. I feel for you all!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63166.66
ETH 2575.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77