You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Unplanned, Satisfying Growth of Our Food Forest

in #gardening6 years ago

When I first started gardening, I was thinking the same thing you are "why waste garden space by growing flowers when I am trying to grow food". I quickly realized no flowers means no food. The number one reason people are not successful growing fruit or vegetables is no pollinators. I learned that you must have a varieties of flowers that can bloom at different times, so you have food for pollinators all year long. I now recommend to people who are new to gardening to plant flowers first, then food. If you bring in more diversity, you will be more successful in your garden.

Sort:  

Heh, this is a great reason to get back to growing flowers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41