Garden Journal (April, 2018) - Showcasing Garden Photos

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

april_29_8.jpg

I was lucky enough to come across the #gardenjournal2018 put together by @simplymike yesterday. What a perfect idea! I love seeing other people's gardens. I get to see the different ways gardeners trellis up their cucumbers, as well as a variety of techniques people use to train their trees. The overall conceptual ingenuity of how others have shaped a minuscule portion of the Earth into a flourishing area to grow food has become an addiction. Seeing how others have designed their gardens has now become synonymous with a trip to an art museum, which is something I have loved from childhood.

I cannot stop taking photos of my garden. I actually take both my Canon camera and my cell phone with me to the garden everyday. Like a mother, seeing all the growth and progress just makes me happy.

April_6_2.jpg
Photo taken April 6th, 2018

April_6_7.jpg
Photo taken April 6th, 2018

April_6_6.jpg
Photo taken April 6th, 2018

What's happening in the garden right now

I am in southeastern Oklahoma (zone 7b). The last frost date in our area is April 15th, so my garden is in early stage of production right now. I planted 21 tomato plants and 30 sweet pepper plants right after the last frost date. They are still establishing their roots in the garden beds. The new growth are nice and green, looking very healthy.

Trying something new with the bell peppers this year. We have an area that has been used for decomposing wood, leaves, and green leftovers. Using three foot lengths of rebar, we easily turned the area into a bed of peppers with great support. As the peppers grow, we will connect the rebar pieces with bamboo. This will give the heavy pepper branches something to rest on.

garden2 copy.jpg

Potatoes are growing nicely this year. There has been no infestation or issues with insects. They are currently blooming with pretty purple flowers. It shouldn't be too much longer before the heat starts to bother them. Sugar snap peas have produced enough for consumption. Will be picking our first ones tomorrow. Garlic are showing their scapes. Waiting for the leaves to show me signs it's time to harvest. Four to six weeks is what I am expecting. Lettuce has been abundant since early March. I always love the colors gourmet lettuces add to the garden in early Spring. 16 blueberry bushes, ranging from five years to less than one are showing pea-sized berries. Pollinators showed up on time and completed their tasks. Cucumbers & zucchinis were planted this week. A couple of them have already peaked out of the ground to say hi. Sunflowers should be knee-high in a week or so. If you are starting a garden, sunflowers are highly recommended.

The baby peaches on the three year old peach trees have been thinned. It took me several attempts to thin the fruit to the point where I knew it should be (maybe still not enough. We will see). It is my first year to substantially thin all fruit trees and it is much more psychologically challenging than I thought it would be. But, I know it has to be done. Quality over quantity.....quality over quantity...quality over quantity. Plum tree has had it rough over the past few years, as it was our first fruit tree to plant. And with firsts come issues. But, it is alive and showing more plums than ever.

garden3.jpg

20 comfrey plants from six to two years of age have been nothing but prosperous to our garden. It appears Bumble Bees have a special place in their heart for the comfrey blossom. This year we will be using some of the comfrey to try our hand at some freshly brewed, stinky as anything has stank before, comfrey tea. Can't wait.

We lost a decent amount of our late spring figs from a few freezing early mornings in mid April. Not a problem though. Our fig trees have been the easiest of any tree we have planted to grow, and are flourishing.

Home Orchard

Our orchards are planted with the permaculture method. Fruit trees are companion planted with comfrey, yarrow, rosemary, lemon balm, oregano, thyme, sage. We have also added some nitrogen fixers this year, such as wax myrtle and sea buckthorn. We expanded our garden this year and added another small orchard. We will be experimenting with new techniques with fruit trees in the new orchard area.

April_29_1.jpg
Photo taken on April 29th, 2018

April_29_2.jpg
Photo taken on April 29th, 2018

Love the orchard part of the garden. It feels very soothing to spend time in there, almost like being in a park. Mimicking nature with the permaculture design. This part of the garden is densely planted.

More Pictures of Our Garden in April, 2018

Since photos are the most important in this contest, and I never miss an opportunity to share my garden photos, here comes more photos.

april_29_7.jpg

April_29_3.jpg

april_29_9.jpg

april_29_6.jpg

Photo copyright: @thelaundrylady

Sort:  

Nice photos :)

Makes me happy to see this! Great job!

Congratulations @thelaundrylady! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

What an awesome garden you have! I love the trellisses you built over the fences.

I can’t wait to see how your garden will change over the coming weeks!

(Congrats on the curie vote!)

Thank you! You gave me the reason to create this post. (I did not know what curie vote was. Had to look it up. What an honor! )

Fabulous curie vote - congratulations! I had one on the weekend - it really buzzes you! :)

@riverflows Congratulations to you, too!

Absolutely wonderful @thelaundrylady!
How many clones do you have to help you keep this so beautiful? haha
An amazing selection.
Just wow wow wow!

Thank you! I have a great husband who helps me ... maybe I should pick up a couple more of those :)

Your garden is so neat and organised! I love it. I hope a lot of people adopt this tag - it's a good one. It's like a #walkwithme for gardens!

Yes, neat and organized, haha. I used to plant with a ruler just to make sure everything was evenly spaced. Glad I got over that with permaculture therapy. Looking forward to seeing how your beautiful garden grows!

Oh my goodness. This garden. This is what I want my garden to look like, only I need about 5x the amount of time I actually have to get it there. So lovely.

Thank you! I am learning about the permaculture method of growing a food forest, so I can spend less time in the garden working and more time enjoying the natural beauty.

I am very interested in permaculture as well. I have a nice text on it, but have had so little time to get immersed. Once the kids are a little older our house will be surrounded by food forest, hopefully.

wow!!!!! mind and heart = blown!!!!!!!! this forest is so beautiful!!!!!!!!!!! truly....FELT!!!!!! re steemed this beauty!!!!! i am so dang inspired!!!!

Thank you! We are here to inspire each other!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34