You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Getting Things Ready For Spring

in #gardening6 years ago

We're lucky that our girls are teenagers now, and I only work 7.25 hours a day in the winter, so I have plenty of time.

That's sweet. I dream of that time lol.

How are Skins and Tubs taking the chickens?

Ay, China was something lol. It is not like it is not worth visiting, but living there is like a whole different thing. I should really start writing that book I've been thinking of for some time new.

Cheers!

Sort:  

When they were kittens they would stalk and chase them, but the hens are tough and put the dogs and cats in their place. Our hound steers clear of them after they hung a licking on him once.

I have friends from China and other friends that go there for business. From the pictures of Guangzhou, I do not think I would like it at all. I'm not a fan of cities.

It's a good life here. We bought our house for 130k and I got a job on the provincial highways, so it's a way nicer balance. I used to live outside Toronto and everything was a struggle to get less.

When they were kittens they would stalk and chase them, but the hens are tough and put the dogs and cats in their place. Our hound steers clear of them after they hung a licking on him once.

Lol, those are some badass hens you got there :D

Damn man, I lived in Guangzhou for almost 7 years! To be honest, I despise that city. It has the worst vibe and attracts the worst talent. Long story short, at some moment have moved to suburb of Shenzhen, which is right on the border with Hong Kong(read:civilization) and those 3 years I've stayed there were quite awesome. I lived 40 minutes away from the downtown by public transport, which is very well developed there, I had a crossing to Hong Kong like 15 minutes away by bike, and that took me to Central HK in 1-1.5 hour. Not to mention we lived at the steps of a hill with a really nice hike trail and the beach was roughly 20 minutes away by cab, or an hour by bike from us. If it wasn't for China being China and life there wasn't as expensive, I would have stayed for longer.

Where do you live in BC?
To be honest with you, after 10+ years in those crazy Chinese megalopolises, I wanted to move to something smaller and slower. I am currently living in Tashkent, which has a population of 2+ million, but even though it is a capital, it is still Central Asia, and the place is like slooow. Once every couple months I still go to China for business trips, but those week or two that I spend there typically make me tired of all that shit really fast, and I want to go back to my cheap food and cat. Not to mention my daughter and wife, lol.

But to be like really honest with you, if I had a different nationality or at least education/skillset, I'd go to small town in Canada, EU or NZ in a heartbeat. The issue is I am a fucking russian by passport and I studied finance in the university, meaning I am not even making the line for skilled workers immigration programs. So ima be hustling.

I live in Hudson's Hope. It's pretty far north. There are a lot of Russians here with a lot less skill, but they have a huge ranch and colonies all over. I think they are Amish. Arsen used to tell me about living in Russia and killing stray dogs. He would sell the fat to people in prison with TB and make hats out of the fur to sell in town.

No wonder they love Canada so much.

I was going to get my friend to ship me some worm farms from China, but they got out of importing and I never got them.

Daumn man, Hudson's Hope is quite far up north!
I guess, those russians have moved there way back in the 90s, it was easier back then. Chinese have flooded every country now, and the requirements have gone up high.

I think you can actually get those from aliexpress: as far as I remember, import procedures in Canada are simple as 1-2-3, so you won't have issues getting them online directly from China.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61964.40
ETH 2998.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47