My Homegrown (Almost) Broccoli!

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

My first attempt at growing a vegetable I can eat failed. My tomato plant got too cold over the winter and I neglected to bring it inside so it died. RIP, little tomato seedling.

My second attempt, growing broccoli from seeds, is beginning to bear fruit. Or vegetable, actually. 

Sure, I've made some critical errors along the process. Among others, I neglected to properly space out the plants, that needed a bucket each rather than have 3-4 plants sharing a bucket. This, and lack of direct sunlight on my balcony, are the cause for my broccoli seedlings from bloody November to only start looking like broccoli now.

I am beyond thrilled, even though this is not a successful experiment. Those tiny heads of broccoli will start turning yellow long before they're big enough to be called a vegetable, but I don't care.

(That's my thumb for perspective)

I will probably adopt another tomato seedling as spring starts (it's still uncharacteristically cold and windy for this time for year), but I am open to suggestions. What should I try growing next?

Sort:  

You have a good progress there

Ffs - brocilli however you spell it is one of the most difficult veg to grow.

I've tried and failed with that many a year.

Start with radish! Spinach is easier too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Chives, onion, garlic, all grow year after year!

I have green onions already, and will need to look up "chives" in Hebrew.

Spinach sounds like a better idea simply due to pricing. Radishes are cheaper than spinach at the shop. Gonna buy some spinach seeds on my next visit to the gardening shop. Thanks!

I further reco. a perpetual variety if you have the option in the U.S.

Heartening to see home growing going on!

Posted using Partiko Android

Not in the US. Israel. We invented cherry tomatoes! Gonna look for a perpetual spinach.

Israel, how interesting, many other steemians there?

Not MANY, but we have a neat little community of a couple dozen.

It's ready to pick and, once you do that, it might grow more heads on the sides. Don't give up.

Do what? Pick the itty bitty head and hope it grows another?

Yes. When the head first comes out, all of the buds it's going to get are on it and they just get bigger. I can see that it's just a small head but it's ripe now. If you leave it too long, it will flower and get bitter.

After the main head is picked, broccoli often grows offshoots. The offshoots are about the size of that head. Read about it here.

Hmm... Well, I guess a single bite counts as "growing something I can eat". I'll give it another day (till it stops raining and isn't as cold outside) and cut it off. I should have paid attention to the seed packet more and given the plants more room and sunlight (or growlight). Well, I learn! And thank you for the insightful comment!!!

P.S. I think I found an offshoot right next to that tiny head. I might be wrong, but I will cut it tomorrowish. Learning new stuff is fun.

I sure does count! You can dice up and eat some of the stem too unless it is tough. It's great in a stir fry. One of the great things about gardening is there is always a chance for a do over.

I like your nail ;)

I tried growing it once and I just got long stems. Failure

Pretty much the same here.

I want your broccoli ;) hahah!!

Btw lady, you were kind of featured in the video in our latest Steem meetup, I totally forgot to tag you because I was rushing to finish the post. Make sure you watch it!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Come and get it! Gonna watch the vid now and be jealous.

Also, !sneeze

But whyyyy

Posted using Partiko Android

You have been infected by the King of Disease!

Will you quarantine yourself?

Or will you spread the plague?

King Of Disease

I love growing peppers and also I have a nice grape vine going which sometimes produces

Hi, @techslut!

You just got a 0.06% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

You have been infected by The King of Disease!

As a patient zero, the fate of the blockchain is in your hands.

Will you protect others? Or will you infect them?

King Of Disease

Hi @techslut!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.206 which ranks you at #247 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 200 contributions, your post is ranked at #20.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65142.09
ETH 3205.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57