Balcony Garden Update: Cherry Tomatoes!

in #gardening5 years ago

I am finally willing to admit that I might not have the brownest thumb in the world. Some of the plants I've planted have survived from seed to fruit to seed again (broccoli) and I am proud to say I am now growing at least a small portion of my food. I am far from sufficient crops to call it an urban micro-farm, but I am working on it.

Introducing: my cherry tomatoes.

This little bush started out as a seedling purchased from a local nursery. When I got it, it had two green tomatoes hanging on it and a few buds of flowers.

With some love and care, water, support and fertilizer, I am now harvesting tomatoes weekly. As you can see in the photos, I have produce at varying stages of growth: buds, flowers, green tiny tomatoes, green big ones, and the lovely ready-to-go-in-salad reds.

Since the nursery only had this one seedling for sale, I courageously purchased some organic seeds to try and grow my own cherry tomato bush from scratch. It's not easy, so wish me (and the three seeds that sprouted) a lot of luck.

Sort:  

נראות טוב

Posted using Partiko Android

הן גם טעימות בטירוף.

They look so nice. I miss having tomatoes of my own but sadly it's no use growing them in my flat. I thought otherwise once but having only a handful of little fruits when there should be medium size ones is a little disappointing.
I have given salad another try but ... I think this is the last season I'm trying to grow something in my flat.

Do you use grow-lights? They can make all the difference. Also, stick to container-friendly types like the cherry tomatoes I am growing. Garden types don't like to grow indoors.

Hows the taste?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sweet and savory and crunchy.

Crunchy ? Really

Yup. Unless I let them get too ripe and then they're soft and very juicy and sweeter. I like them crunchy and somewhat savory.

😁 yeah I heard that tomatoes are juicy and sweeter. But it's nee to hear crunchy 😊. Maybe before riping stage.

Sis I need one more help. I would like to study about Android studio and application development. Am have Java programming skills. What are the more programming languages should I need ? and where can I learn those things? Any suggestions sis.

There's no shortage of free tutorials for developers of various levels of skill on YouTube and on elearning platforms like Coursera. If you're looking for advice on what to focus one - node.js is a good place to start. You might want to explore C#, React, Angular and see where it leads you.

Oh thank for replying. I will look into it 😊.

Hi @techslut!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 7.082 which ranks you at #66 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 294 contributions, your post is ranked at #124.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Your follower network is great!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @techslut!

You just got a 0.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72