My volunteer plum tomato

in #gardening6 years ago

In the spring , I was using the compost from the bin to prepare the bed for my herbs. A tomato plant came up, I was not sure what kind of tomato I am going get, and I just took care of the plant. I am so pleased; the plant is doing so well and producing lots of tomatoes. I just can't wait for them to be ripen.

Nothing better than picking fresh tomatoes from your own garden !

Thank you for visiting my page.

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Volunteer veggies are "something for nothing" rewards for organic gardening! Save the seeds because they must love being in your compost and should be good producers in future years.

It was a pleasant surprise the tomato plant come up and doing well as it is. I will try to save seeds from this plant since it has not been modified, I think. I had few tomato plants in my garden last years, they did not do as well as this one, and they produced just about three or four tomatoes comparing to this one.

Thank you for viewing my page.

I agree that the tomatoes were probably not genetically modified since they are bearing fruit. That also may be an heirloom type, if you have had any of those tomatoes in the past year or so. Compost piles can be sources of all kinds of garden treasures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66