What will I do with so many gorgeous heirloom tomatoes?

in #gardening7 years ago

A good harvest, and so many at once. Notice I said so many, not 'too' many?

Don't let your tomato harvest go to waste!

You may want to dry tomatoes, which is the best way to preserve them for 2 reasons:

  1. They won't need electricity to preserve them for long term storage.
  2. Sun dried tomatoes are expensive to purchase.

Perhaps you 'can' them. Keeping your home-grown tomatoes for the winter gives you local nutrition that removes doubt on how they were grown.

Here is how to freeze tomatoes for stews and other healthy, delectable meals (because you already caned and dried tomatoes last month);

Start with ripe tomatoes

20171004_185844-2124x1195.jpg

These are all ripe. The yellow ones are 'pineapple' / ' Old German', meaty and mild.
The greenish ones are 'Black Sea Man' which are more acidic and super flavorful.
The large pleated ones are 'zopotek' a very large and extra sweet favorite.

Put them in a boiling pot for 40 seconds. Remeber to note the time.

20171004_190345-1195x2124.jpg

Quickly transfer to an ice cold bowl, in my case I used my sink with ice cold water.

20171004_191216_crop_718x1062.jpg

Now you de-skin and remove seeds and extra juice. A paring knife is my tool of choice. Did you notice the heavily pleated Zopotek? The pleats contain the seeds, that leaves you with loads of 'meat'!

Yes, believe me, these tomatoes have more meat than the traditional Roma tomato!

Cut the meat into pieces.

You will be left with a bowl of scrap that looks like this:

20171004_200311_crop_744x846.jpg

I regret calling it scrap, because here I am straining it, to enjoy a picher of tomato juice full of vitamin C at this time of year where the common cold is brewing! Delish!

Next take your tomato pieces and place into freezer bags. TIP: lay them flat, so that you can easily break a piece off while frozen. They also defreeze easier than if they were frozen in a lump!

20171004_200436_crop_743x739.jpg

If you have read this far, then please upvote my post. I am glad I captured your interest and hope you gained new knowledge.


By @susieisms

Sort:  

Today onward I will try this method. Thanks.

You are welcome.

the tomatoes with rippled skim looks odd to me. 😃😃
that is a good harvest for sure. congrats. .

Hi @ekavieka !
Yes, I am so glad for the harvest! Last time we got a desease called blight.
The rippled skin is normal for some heirloom tomatoes. 😁 they are very sweet.
Thank you for your comment. I havent posted in a while. . .
Hope you are well.

The tomatoes here in my place is hard and I can't squeeze them easily.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77