Winter bluessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening5 years ago

winter blues.png

Today is March 2nd of 2019, I know that spring is just around the corner but I just can't help feeling down because all the snow and cold temperatures outside.


01.JPG

With fire painted skies this is how it all starts, yes is very beautiful , nature is awesome but with surprises.

02.JPG

Yes I know that spring is just around and soon I'll be able to work in my garden but is not soon enough. Ok , I do like the snow too, not the cold but winter sometimes is wonderful to enjoy.

03.JPG

The one thing that I like about winter is the snow to feed my plants, I have a water drum in the basement inside the furnace room and whenever we get fresh snow I pack it full then as the snow melts I water all my plants with this chemical free ( I think ) liquid.

04.JPG

Although this winter was very mild to start we are getting lots of snow now with temperatures of -30C during the day.

05.JPG

I do have a few indoor plants that will flower almost all winter, a plant like this tea rose.

09.JPG

About five years ago I bought this rose plant, I keep it indoors all winter then set it outdoors when the weather permits. It keeps flowering steady, with a bit of pruning, fertilizer, sunlight, warmth, and water this tea rose is a joy to have.

07.JPG

These roses are very easy grow and care for, just give those few elements that I just mention , leave it in a pot so you can bring indoors for the winter that's all.

10.JPG

In the picture above you can see that Basil grows well indoors, if you like brushetta you have to grow some. Cilantro is another herb that is easy to grow indoors,plus every time you trim it and use it the plant grows stronger.

06.JPG

I have two lemon plants that I'm growing from seed , will see how they turn out, don't know if those lemons or citrus fruits which you buy in the supermarket will produce anything.

My christmas cactus is starting again to flower and is another of those plants that will give a great amount of color in those gray winter months.

08.JPG

This plant above flowers all year long , keep the fertilizing to once a week and water every three days.

So there you have it, the great secret to keep your winter blues away get indoor flowering plants.

Thanks for reading ,

Sort:  

Congratulations @sunsetsky! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64