Tips for Growing a Fabulous Raspberry Patch

in #gardening7 years ago


Raspberries are a delightful fruit, easy to grow and very versatile. If you love to garden and grow your own food, then be sure to find some room for a few canes. They will not disappoint, as there is nothing like the satisfaction of harvesting your own garden.

Planting Raspberry Canes

Canes are available in early Spring at most farm and garden centers, or easily ordered on line as well. This is the best time to plant them to allow them to establish themselves well with the early spring rains. My raspberry plants are ever-bearing or a fall bearing variety. These produce fairly heavily throughout the growing season.

Location


Choose the site for you bed wisely, considering that they grow quickly and require plenty of good air flow. A sunny site is very beneficial to a good crop, at least 6-8 hours per day.

Soil Preparation


Prepare your soil by amending the planting area with a mix of good, composted materials such as: manure, shredded leaves, grass clippings, garden lime (if your soil PH is acidic), and peat moss to help retain moisture and raise the PH, as they are water loving plants. Depending how you choose to plant your canes, whether in rows or a large open bed, plant them with room to grow. I like to give the canes about 2 - 3 feet apart and if doing multiple rows, leave a good 6 feet between for ease when harvesting.

Soak the roots of the canes in a bucket of water to hydrate them well before planting. Dig a good size hole to accommodate the entire root ball. Plant to the base of the canes growth from the roots. Adding a general garden fertilizer as a top dressing broadcasted after planting will help them to get off to a good start. If you don't mind buying fertilizer, a 20-21-20 formula is great for Raspberries to stimulate root, cane and berry production.

Canes do well with some support if you want to keep them nice and tidy. Otherwise, let them grow naturally. I have a small 12" space and prop them up with large twine to keep them more upright, rather than cascading for easier picking. ;-)

Caring for Raspberry Plants



Watering


The plants will need a good 2 inches of water per week to keep the fruit hydrated. Preferably twice a week if it is really hot without any rainfall. If they do not get enough water the berries will stay very small and may even wither up before ripening. Water at the base of the plants if possible, instead of overhead watering.

Pests

  • Aphids -symptoms: Curled leaves turn yellow and wither, also presence of ants indicate aphids
  • Cane Borer - symptoms: Cane may bulge and die back due to larvae, look for sawdust around old canes.
  • Raspberry beetle - symptoms: Small fruit-worms can be seen inside of ripened fruit.
  • Japanese Beetle - symptoms: Heavily chewed leaves (larvae/white grubs)

    My pest control is quite minimal, I have only experienced Japanese beetles feasting on the raspberry leaves in July a few years ago. They are native to our area so you may not have any issues with them at all. Occasionally, I will see a squirrel standing up to eat a few if they are hanging close enough to the ground. Too cute for words!


    Harvest Time


    Once the berries begin to ripen, approximately two weeks after they bud, be sure to check them daily. The fruit will start coming in slowly, but quickly turns into a picking frenzy once your canes are 2 - 3 years old. They can produce a lot of berries, averaging 1 -2 quarts per plant throughout the growing season.

    You will be able to tell when they are fully ripe by their bright red color. Also, when you go to pick them they will easily pluck from the vine. Plants will continue to fruit well into fall and start to slow down as the nights become much colder.

    Do not wash your berries until you are ready to use them as water will cause them to spoil quicker. Refrigerate your berries right after harvesting, they will keep fresh for 2-3 days tops.

    Enjoy your berries fresh everyday, in smoothies, cereals, fruit salads, and of course a cocktail too. If you find you can not consume your bounty fast enough, you can always make Raspberry Jam. Or, lay them onto a cookie sheet in the freezer until frozen then store the berries in Ziploc freezer bags for up to a year.



    Pruning and Dividing Canes


    It is recommended to trim your canes, cutting them on an angle, back to about 3-4' tall in very early spring when new growth starts. This will keep your canes controllable and less crowded, which encourages better fruiting. Personally, I prefer pruning in late September to early November here in New York's zone 5-6. I like to have all my growing beds very clean before winter, just my preference.

    After a couple of years you can remove the old, brown canes that stopped producing. Also, thin out the spindly canes or any damaged ones to discourage disease. After two - three seasons you will have had many new canes popping up throughout your growing bed.

    New growth will emerge in early spring on the older canes and new shoots will appear from the ground. Raspberries spread by runners underground and can easily be dug up and transplanted first thing in Spring.

Source - How to Grow
Smoothie Source

I hope you have enjoyed my growing tips for raising Raspberry plants. I encourage you to do so if you have the room for them. Happy Gardening!

Until next time, this is Sunscape...

Sun. Scape. Ing your day

Previous Posts @sunscape
My Website
My Etsy Store - Sunscapes Soaps & Soaks
My Etsy Store - Crystal Vibrations
My Tweets on Twitter

Sort:  

I LOVE raspberries!
Though blackberries grow a lot better here so we grow them instead. We have about 100 bushes and they produce so many blackberries each year. Because we native varieties they require very little maintenance at all and produce year after year!
I love posts about nature and gardening. Thanks for sharing.
SteemON!

Thank you for your kind comments about my gardening posts. I am happy to hear you have so many blackberries. I love them to and grow them as well. I already started a post for them and will release it next week. Thank you as always.

Awesome!
I love nature and gardening posts. Keep em coming!

I've seen blackberries growing wild in the bushland, but for some reason they seem to be so hard to grow myself.

The berries that I've seen in a friend's garden, that seem to grow really well are blue berries. Might start with them @sunscape and @quinneaker

Sounds like a good plan, Blueberries are slow growing bushes but once they start producing they come on strong. Love my bushes too.

I like smoothies with raspberries and other berries, they are excellent in the summer :)

Must be wonderful to grow your own raspberries @sunscape. I tried to grow some berries but without success ~ And then other plants took over their space. Will have to try again. ❤

My husband is picking them everyday now, soon I will have enough coming in to make him jam. Just give them the space to grow and loosen up your soil, you should be fine. They are so worth the effort.

@sunscape Such a Nice Raspberries. I like it very much. Please Keep Going.

Glad you like my Raspberry post, thank you for stopping by.

You are most welcome, glad you enjoyed the Raspberry post @outhori5ed

@sunscape I saw some wild rasberries while hiking the other day. It was really neat to compare to cultivated plants.

That is so cool, you usually don't come across them in the wild too often.

A very informative post and as I read it I had flashbacks to my Dad giving me all these tips over the year, he had quick a big garden and was such an avid and passionate garden and loved nothing move to be our caring for it and sharing his knowledge and love of it to me and my siblings

Sounds like a great dad to pass on his wisdom to his kids. Gardening is such a great pastime.

Ohh he surely was and even though he is not with us so many of his petals of wisdom come to me and random times and keep him with us in my memory

That is so cool, I have to go and spread my fathers ashes this weekend and it has been a rough week as memories have been flooding in. We have to travel to take him back to where he was born in the Southern tier here in NY. He is going to be buried on his parents homestead that is still in the family. So I get it, memories and words remembered with such detail too, just like it was yesterday.

I am trying raspberries in my garden for the first time this year! I will let you know if they grow for me! Have a great day!

Good for you, they really are quite easy and so forgiving. Best of luck for a great crop.

Thank you I appreciate your comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65407.18
ETH 3576.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48