You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I used to condition my soil the organic way - Started to do (Back to Eden method in my garden) Working great!

in #gardening7 years ago

Great post, I like that you included the colloidal silver. I have been making my own for years and use it for everything. I will be spraying my tomato plants tomorrow since I have a bit of blight starting. Great tips saved4newlife, you have a new follower too! Gardening is a passion of mine.

Sort:  

I must say, I've really only used it as a preventative solution and never tried it on full blown Blight. Not sure if it can reverse it in time but it should help stop spread of it. Oh another thing about blight. I hear that planting potatoes near your tomato plants will increase chances of blight. Not sure if that's true or not but something to consider. If Blight does get out of hand tear off blight leaves. If whole plant compromised then take out plant. Burn it or dispose of it in trash. Do not add to compost. Best of luck! Followed back!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add this extra info. I have never tried it on full blown blight either. We have had so much rain that many plants are being affected now. It is time for me to get busy thinning and pruning out leaves. thanks for your input

Anytime! :) Wish I had answers for too much water and blossom end rot but I don't. Well except for well draining soil.

I save my eggshells all winter long and grind them into powder as best I can. I add the shells at the bottom of my holes before planting my tomatoes and that has reduced blossom end rot for me. I have not had it in years.

Yep the calcium helps

Awesome! Yeah most people don't know it works really good. I only use a 20 PPM (Parts per million) solution. Not sure what you make. Thanks and hope it helps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38