You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My vegetable garden woes

in #gardening8 years ago

Thank you! It's fun and I don't mind everything not being perfect. I did think of it as a way to save money at first, but after the cost of the topsoil, all the gardening tools, and the seeds (not to mention the time spent), I think this is a financially neutral activity. At least we'll have organic home-grown veggies to eat!

  1. Oh...something could have eaten the seeds! There are some crows, cardinals, robins, and other birds. I've never seen a squirrel or chipmunk in this area. I heard that there's a coyote den next door. (I'm not sure if that's relevant, but it's crazy!)
  2. It was watered (or rained on) at least once a day, but it does dry out pretty quickly, so this could have been part of the problem. I will try watering lightly 2-3 times a day and see if that goes better.
  3. Hmmm....The peas were from Home Depot or Walmart. :/
  4. Ok. I thought the soil seemed perfect too, but am inexperienced with clay. It could be kind of fun to look at the pH though. (I'm a nerd.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54554.44
ETH 2294.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31