MICRO GREENS: What they are and how to add some spice to your life. Plus easy Pea Shoot Cheese Melt recipe!

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

DSC01000.jpg
What are these? . . . MICRO GREENS! . ..VEGETABLES, HERBS or SPICES grown in as little as 7 days from seed till 2-3" high and then harvested, they are just about the MOST NUTRITIOUS food source on the planet. In fact some micro-greens like red cabbage(packed with vitamin C), broccoli, kale, cilantro, and radish(most vitamin E) contain up to FORTY TIMES (40X) higher levels of VITAL NUTRIENTS and have the HIGHEST ANTIOXIDANT CAPACITY and super-high concentrations of health-promoting PHENOLIC COMPOUNDS than regular full-size plants. But the best part I discovered is they TASTE MUCH BETTER as well! A few hours after eating them I felt tons of energy and felt focused and realized what had been missing from my food intake!
pizza.jpg
DSC01033.jpg
I now was adding cilantro and sunflowers to tacos - purple basil on chicken salad and potato pizza, amaranth and beets on turkey sandwiches, every combo I tried was surprisingly great . . . . . I felt like I had I discovered the secret to the universe . . . . and in a way I had.
newe.jpg
OK, so right about now YOU are wondering how you could try some to see if you like this "health food" oh please don't call it that, it's really about the taste!
dinner.jpg
My first discovery was pea shoots (you will find in the cooler at health food store or farmers market) or here in this photo with some other fresh food grown at a an amazing certified organic farm this summer, I took a piece of Cuban bread and buttered both sides and sprinkled a tiny amount of garlic salt, then added some medium cheddar cheese and toasted in the oven, then crowned with a handful of pea shoots (so simple, right?) . . . . . OH YES! WE HAVE A WINNER!
CheeseBread.jpg
TRY THIS RECIPE and let me know if you enjoyed eating your SUPER-NUTRIENTS! :)

Pea Shoot Garlic Cheese Melt
You will need:
Loaf of Cuban or Italian bread
Real Butter
Garlic salt or fresh garlic (go light)
1 cup shredded Cheddar
4 oz Pea Tendrils or Pea Shoots
(I found mine at Glory Road Gardens along with wheat-grass and sunflower shoots)
https://certified.naturallygrown.org/producers/2831

Follow+ along to be the first to try new creations!
https://steemit.com/@stuckinparadise

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46