Jatropha

in #gardening8 years ago

Jatropha

Family: Euphorbiaceae (yoo-for-bee-AY-see-ee)

Jatropha is an interesting genus of plants, native to the tropical and sub-tropical regions of the world. I enjoy growing Jatrophas because they are rather unusual looking plants, some are beautiful, others are not so pretty but rather unique.

Jatrophas are drought tolerant and survive the Florida dry season with ease. They prefer a location with plenty of full sun, but will survive in partial shade. I have not had a problem with insects attacking my Jatropha collection.

The sap of the Jatropha plant contains curcin which is toxic and can irritate the skin.

My collection of Jatrophas consists of Jatropha podagrica (Buddha Belly Plant), J gossypifolia (Bellyache Bush), J integerrima (Spicy Jatropha), J cinerea (Ashy Limberbush), J multifida (Coral Plant) & a hybrid that I made several years ago.

The Jatrophas in my collection all have orangey-red flowers. They have separate male and female flowers. Normally three female flowers open first, followed by several male flowers. I assume this happens to avoid self pollination.

In my Orlando garden, my Jatrophas are damaged by freezing temperatures, but not killed completely. I grow J podagrica & my hybrid in a pot so that they may be brought indoors when frost threatens. The other plants in my collection are planted in the garden because they grow rather large, quite quickly. I would think all Jatrophas could be grown as houseplants in northern areas.

If you don't already have a Jatropha consider adding this fascinating plant to your collection!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59