🌱 Home Gardening with Hydroponics - Seed Starting Update (August 14, 2017)

They grow up so fast... Welcome gardening enthusiasts to my next update on the seeds I started so you can follow their progress as well. It's been 15 days since the last update and it's been 27 days since the seeds were started.

So far the results have been typical to cycles in the past. Most plants are growing as expected, a few have failed for whatever reason, but this is why I start a few extra seeds each time. At this time the lettuce plants are big enough with strong enough roots to be transplanted to net cups and moved to my wall garden. The tomatoes, cucumbers, and peppers are ready to move to my garage system for a short hold-over of about 20 days before heading outside.

SeedUpdate-20171308-01.jpg
Lettuce plants in my Hydroponic Wall Garden.

Yesterday I took some time to transplant the strongest lettuce plants into net cups and placed them in my wall garden. Generally I am looking for them to have at least 3 true leaves growing and roots hanging at least 1.5" out of the rockwool medium before I transplant them. This ensures the roots will reach the nutrient water flowing through the rails and be hardy enough to make the transition.

You will notice in the picture, I have 3 older lettuce plants that were leftovers from the previous seed cycle I was able to put in the system after the clean out - we have been able to get some leaves from them over last few weeks. ( Top row far right #6, Middle Row #2 and #6 ) As the new lettuce plants mature and become harvestable, those 3 plants will be removed and replaced with new starter plants. I also temporarily moved the new cucumber plants to the wall garden ( top row left ) since their leaves got big fast and were crowding the tomato plants. They will be moving to the garage in a few days.

SeedUpdate-20171308-06.jpg
2" Net Cup, Clay Pebbles, Rockwool

I gently pull the roots down through the net cups and lightly pack in extra rockwool around the sides to hold it in place, then I put smaller clay pebbles on top. The clay pebbles help to block light from getting to the rockwool which prevents algae growth and also add a bit of insulation to reduce water evaporation. I purchase my rockwool and clay pebbles online from Amazon.com, the net cups come from Morgan County Seeds (Missouri,USA).

SeedUpdate-20171308-02.jpg
Close up of "Green Ice" lettuce to show the size at time of transplant.

The new plants will need 15-20 more days of growing before they are mature enough to support harvesting. At that time we will harvest the oldest leaves from the bottom of each plant as needed, working our way up the stems as they grow. We are always careful not to take too many leaves from any given plant too fast, that stress can cause the plant grow smaller leaves and bolt early.

SeedUpdate-20171308-04.jpg
Tomato plants in the seed starting tray - ready to move to garage system

SeedUpdate-20171308-03.jpg
Pepper plants in the seed starting tray - ready to move to garage system

SeedUpdate-20171308-05.jpg
Cucumber plants temporarily in the wall garden.

This week I will be moving the tomato, cucumber, and pepper plants to my garage system where they will grow for about 20 or so more days before I move them to my outside garden system. This should time out well, putting us past the hottest days of our Florida summer.

I will also be starting a small tray of lettuce seeds, around 6 plants. In 30 days, when they are ready to transplant to my wall garden, the older plants will be done providing and ready to swap out. This will establish my 45-60 day rotation cycle that I will maintain to ensure a continuous harvest.

I will be adding a few herbs to my garden this week as well, Cilantro, Parsley, and Dill - oh my :-) I am considering soil-to-hydro transplants for those to get a head start on them, it will also be a good topic for me to explain about in a post.



If you have any questions or comments, just drop a reply below.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me if you like my work and want to see more.

If you think others will enjoy this Please ReSteem it!


Thanks for reading, now get out there and get GROWING!

Sort:  

Do you have any issues with your wall plants getting leggy, since the light is a static location?

Hi Dean. Overall it's not too bad. The LED lights I use are fairly intense so the plants usually keep short and stout, but do grow up as we harvest the lower leaves from them. The plants will provide large leaves for around 45 days from first harvest day so you will have some length of stem given how much we get from them, but its not a "bolting" type leggy-ness.

This is from my previous batch earlier this year, most pants stay compact, a few get taller showing the stem where we harvested from.

A few more pictures are in this earlier post.
https://steemit.com/gardening/@steempowergarden/home-gardening-with-hydroponics-our-indoor-lettuce-wall-garden-and-how-i-built-it-repost

Thanks.
I was wondering if my LED squares were bright enough. They seem very bright, but I do get leggy issue. Next season I plan on lowering them a bit and of course, transplanting to larger containers and hopefully my outside garden wall will be done as well.

I love the streamlined look and the contrast the green has with the white! And I love how healthy they look as well!

Thanks, I built it to match the white "IKEA" look of the other wall mounted units next to it in the living room. So it all has a clean look with the lavender wall color. :-)

The downstairs glows like a nightclub during the day when the lights are on LOL.

It's super neat! Very streamlined ⭐️

Another great share. Can't wait to get my own system going!

Thank you Amy. I'm always here to help if you have any questions.

So great!! I love seeing the progress.

Thank you Jannell. Happy to see you following along.

Looks like a nice system you have going. I'm strictly an outside gardener but I may look into hydroponics some day. Do you grow plants outside all winter in Florida. I would thing cool weather crops would do nice down there in the winter.

Thank you Sam. Yes, I grow all year here in South Florida. The lettuce would do good Nov-Mar, but it was a struggle the rest of months so I moved the greens indoors. Everything else grows year-round outside.

Your an inspiration man, brilliant ! Loved the post. I'm gonna get out there and get growing :)

Hey Richard - Thank you. Home-grown is the way to go :-)

Nice lookin hidro setup. It's a hidroponics sistem and a wall mounted art instalation:)

Thanks @dbukyo - yes, I always try to make my garden system look as good as well as be functional :-)

Not just the plants but the setup is superb, will work well with any room i figure.. :)

Thank you Vitto. Yes, this was designed to use the LED lights so it would work just about anywhere.

This post has received a 16.39 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @steempowerpics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71