Saving Gigantor the MutantsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening8 years ago

I could feel its cold heft, its thorny skin piercing my soft hand as I shrieked...

enter image description here

Bundling myself against the chill, the temperature seemed to plummet with my first step into the autumn-languishing garden.

enter image description here

Dead vines and leaves strangling the last gasps of color.
Thorns everywhere.
The green draining from the few remaining leaves.
The rose petals half-devoured and dying.

enter image description here

The feeling of being watched was palpable. I felt its presence only moments before seeing its monstrous green body which had grown in secret, lurking under cover until the time had come.

enter image description here

Meet Gigantor the Mutant and His Evil Apprentice, Zurg

That's a BIG cucumber - and the REALLY BIG one's just crazy.

enter image description here

From experience, I know these big boys are beyond biting. They're too old, too far gone. But not for saving seeds, thanks to @lyndsaybowes and her how-to piece for lazy gardeners.

So, I followed her tutorial, step by step.

First I sliced Gigantor and Zurg open from head to toe.

enter image description here

Put some warm water into a quart canning jar.

enter image description here

Scooped the seeds out and drowned them in water.

enter image description here

Done? Not Hardly!

I cut the cuke corpses into bits, their death-throe thorns prickling me with every slice.

enter image description here

Casting Gigantor and Zurg's remains out to our mini-raptors, I was careful to make sure they didn't mistake me for their prey.

enter image description here

And then... I slowly backed away.

enter image description here

We'll give the seeds a few days to do what they're going to do (separate themselves from the pulp and sink to the bottom). Then just as @lyndsaybowes taught, I'll let them dry on paper towels, which we'll save in a big, dark paper bag until spring.

enter image description here

Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

Nice post with some great photos

Thank you! Did I scare you with my terrifying tale? ;)

What a great story hahhaa! So, did the seed saving work @steemitpatina?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61