Sort:  

Aquaponics, I think is the combination of growing plants in water (hydroponics) that is being used to raise/keep fish. The plants use the nitrates from the fish waste, and you can use underwater plants to increase the oxygen for the fish. I'm pretty sure I've read that depending on the fish load, some plants can adapt themselves to using up either ammonia, or nitrite, instead of the nitrate. I just recently got back into fish keeping and planting my aquarium, and the thought of being able to add some plants on the surface of the tank to keep the tank balanced, plus get some fresh (although a very small amount) produce or even some herbs, is very tempting!

Yep, that's a good overview of it. I have a Koi pond out back and I have a mix of live/fake plants in there. The live plants help keep things balanced. But that pond is not part of my edible gardens, just a pond. Most of my food is grown in hydroponics, a few things still in soil containers.

Koi pond! Amazing. One day I hope I can upgrade to a koi pond! Small steps...

It's a small one, but it makes the back yard area so peaceful. I plan to have a post on how I built that too soon.

Yes, Aquaponics. It is good for lettuce, herbs and other greens. A little more challenging for fruiting plants that require other minerals and nutrients.

Is it possible for the root system of fruiting plants to adapt to a hydroponic environment?

Hydroponics yes, I grow tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, eggplant, squash. On occasion I grow small watermelon, cantaloupe, and even sunflowers (as a test) in hydroponics.

In Aquaponics I'm not sure, since the plants require other heavy minerals like calcium and magnesium and I'm not sure how those effect the fish. You would have to research that more.

Hi @steemboys, just wanted to let you know I posted my next hydroponics article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68665.88
ETH 2524.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53