Accompany Me On My JourneysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Hello All,

I have embarked on a new project which I am going to need your help with! See the thing is...I've taken on a plot at an allotment which needs a lot of working on! Some of you will be like "that's great" others will be like "fantastic, how exciting" I know a few will be thinking (like my wife) "where will he find the time' and the odd one or two of you will be like that sounds sooo "boring"
Now I wouldn't call my self a gardening novice but I am far from being an expert. I've had a few (2) greenhouses but have never taken on something of this magnitude! So without further ado ..lets have a look at the plot!

DSC_0179.JPG

You can see its a fare size and will take lots of time and dedication. I was lucky enough to inherit a shed from the previous owner and have begun to put my bits and bobs in it already. The roof of the shed needed new roofing felt and so far it has not leaked after considerable amounts of rain!

Whats on the plot?
Blackberry Bush to the right going from the front to the back of the plot
Raspberry Plants - towards the rear of the plot
Pear tree - next to the shed
Compost bin

What have I done since last week in-between working, being dad, being a husband playing football etc etc?

IMG-20170511-WA0010.jpg

The picture below was taken this evening 15th May which was the first time I had been back since last week Thursday!
DSC_0270.JPG

I've opted for taking the turf off with a spade and not using a rotavator....have I made a big mistake? I believe that this short term pain will be a long term gain. Is this wishful thinking or am I being naive?

Any comments or feedback will be greatly appreciated!!

I will be regularly posting updates of my journey so do keep a look out!

Stay Blessed
1Love StarB

Sort:  

Congratulations @starb2014! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Join the discord server underneath our post. Then announce your presence in the hello channel and your steemit username. We can help speed up newbies to steemit knowledge that can actually takes months to realize. Knowing this basics however, an your steemit journey will be one of more bliss and success!
or here: discord.gg/2rmtwGy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60623.84
ETH 2572.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57