Eating Houseplants?! Look what we do with 'Wandering Jew' (Tradescantia)

in #gardening5 years ago


Okay, before I even begin here... I am NOT a doctor, herbologist, botanist, or any other kind of 'ist'.


Take what I have to say with a grain of salt, do your own research, and make your own decisions!


That being said, let's get into it!!


P1090050.jpg

Does this plant look familiar? It might. It is known by several names, including 'wandering Jew', 'inch plant', or 'Tradescantia'.


This is a popular houseplant in the spiderwort family. It is a very fast grower, growing about an inch a week, sometimes more! It is also extremely easy to propagate. All you have to do is break off a piece, stick in into dirt or water, and BOOM, it will grow!
 
In fact, all the wandering Jew I have is descendant from a single, wilted piece that we picked up from the ground at Walmart, several years ago.


P1090051.jpg

Now, being such a quick growing, easy-to-propagate plant, I thought to myself, 'what if we could EAT this?! This could be a good food-source!


Now, the internet is not bursting with information about the edibility of this plant. People will say it 'won't harm you if you eat it, but it is mildly toxic externally, and may cause skin irritation'. After tons and tons of researching, I DID find a page that talked about how in Mexico, they make a summer beverage with the leaves of this plant. That's about the extent of the info I have found!


P1090048.jpg

Well, I decided to experiment a little. I fed some to my goats and chickens.


They scarfed it down and seemed to really enjoy it! After quite a few feedings, with no ill effects whatsoever, I talked it over with my husband, and we decided to give it a try! We added a few leaves to our salad. No ill effects. We added more leaves. No ill effects! It doesn't have a remarkable flavor, tasting like most greens do, but it is quite pretty! Being dark green and purple, like most greens of this color, we are assuming it is chock full of antioxidants and nutrients. It has been several months now, and we add it to all our salads, and the more we prune it, (aka harvest it!), the denser and quicker it grows!


P1090052.jpg

Like I said, I am no expert, but from my personal experiences, I would say this plant is safe to eat, and seems to be a great addition to the garden!


We have experienced NO ill effects from consuming this plant over the past months, even feeding it in salads to our kids. Shoot, we have not even experienced the 'mild skin irritation' that several websites talk about! I harvest and chop it almost every day and not a single irritated finger to speak of.


This plant is staying on my list of plants to grow for salad greens. It is, indeed, a good food source.


page-break-1024x256.png

Thanks for stopping by to check out what we've been munching on! Would you try some 'wandering Jew' if you had it growing? Or is it not for you?


Have a blessed day! ♥



page-break-1024x256.png

Badge comp.png


Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Okay, for anyone interested, I found a post that talks more about using this plant for medicinal purposes! Also, if you read the comments, apparently people in other countries eat it as well!

https://survivingmexico.com/2017/06/26/natural-healing-wandering-jew-matali-tea/

(I only upvoted myself there to pop this comment to the top! Wish there was a 'pin comment option...)

I added an upvote for ya.

Aww thanks! :D

Wonderful! This plant was the first plant I owned when we married 42 years ago, lol!! I love it, it would certainly be a beautiful addition to any salad, I would love to know more! It is a very prolific plant! Thanks for the info @squishysquid :)

No prob! Hopefully you can find out more about it than I did! Apparently it has not occurred to many people to EAT it!

Very interesting @squishysquid! We have a very purple Wandering Jew growing in our garden, will do a little research into the edibility of that as well;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad I could spark the idea! :D
Its such a pretty plant. ♥

You’ve been visited by @riverflows on behalf of Natural Medicine!

I always love that comment people make when they say they have tried a food and 'I'm absolutely find, no symptoms at all - nope, I'm gooo.......kerthunk thud'. I wonder what nutritional benefits it might have?


50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP ♡♡♡
Discord

Bah ha ha! Well, so far, no thud!
Hopefully lots of nutritional benefits! No one has scientifically studied it though.. so Im running on assumptions for now. ;)

It sure will add some nice color to the salads if nothing else ;)

Very true! And who doesnt like eating pretty things... Kinda like adding flowers to a salad. ;)

so true I remember a place I used to eat in Bosnia that added flowers to salads there always looked and tasted so good ;)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


563.png

Manually curated by @eonwarped.

It's funny...

As I was reading this, I thought, "that's what this is called!" We acquired ours the same way... laying on the ground... added some rooting compound; that thing grew like crazy!! Thank you for sharing your story with us!

No prob!! :D

Found an interesting article about using this plant medicinally:
https://survivingmexico.com/2017/06/26/natural-healing-wandering-jew-matali-tea

One of the comments say that in kenya, they use this plant as a vegetable, so I guess it is not so crazy to eat it, haha!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 460 (04/18/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68608.97
ETH 3280.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74