You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Food Forest Update (June 2018) - Garden Journal Showcasing Photos from My Food Forest

in #gardening6 years ago

Awesome update, @thelaundrylady.
We have the same problem here: it’s way too hot for this time of the year. Fortunately we had heavy rain almost each day last week, but this week we’re watering by hand again.
That’s one hell of a job. From the look of it, your garden is a couple of times bigger than mine, so I can imagine some natural rain would be a huge time saver.

I didn’t know about the cucumber/radishes companion planting. I might go out and sow some extra radishes this afternoon. Thanks for the tip.

I love the trellises you have put up. Looks really professional. Completely different from my own ‘DIY-but-not-very-handy’ solutions for climbers I have put into place, lol

Sort:  

Thanks for stopping by @simplymike! I learned about the cucumber/radishes companion planting from an old farmer. That's why I love talking to old farmers. They have so much knowledge from experience and are always eager to share with people.

My garden is about 1/3 of an acre in size, so it takes my husband and I a couple of hours to water everything by hand. It's a pain in the butt, but it gives me more time in the garden to spot & kill pests early. Just trying to be positive you know :)

Always look at the bright side of life, right.
I often miss having more experienced gardeners to talk to. The little I know I’ve learned from 1 or 2 books, and my main man Mr. Google.
And experimenting of course :0)

31D4077F-2E77-41E5-8CD2-C0A041F7CCDF.png
Source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42