Free Compost Tumbler made out of scrap materials! Suburban Homestead

in #gardening7 years ago

compost_tumbler_thumb.jpg

If you want to make compost but you don't like waiting, a compost tumbler may be what you need. It will also help deter pests from feasting out of your pile of kitchen scraps waiting to become black gold. In this video I show how we made our own compost tumbler without having to buy a single item, all from scrap materials we had laying around. There is one thing I would change from this design: I would use a plastic drum. While I generally don't like plastic, it will last way longer than a metal drum, as the metal tends to rust and fall apart in about 2-3 years. Other than that this works great!

Here is the video:

compost1.jpeg

compost2.jpeg

compost3.jpeg

compost4.jpeg

Sort:  

Nice, a friend of mine just made 2 tumblers very similar to this! His opens on the end but I suggested that he make a hole in the side like you did.

That is a beautiful idea and video @siloe . Nice work as always :)

Thanks Blake!

Nice video! Been thinking about this and was wondering if it would work. Now I know it does!!!

Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

Awesome job, looks great! Found you via @daddykirbs resteeming this. Following you now! :)

This is a great idea. I've got one I bought from amazon but nothing like just making it yourself! Nice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59588.19
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50