Me.. gardening!?! Well sort of 😉steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening8 years ago

At no point in my life, at least until now, have I ever attempted to get into gardening. Sure I planted stuff, but this was usually done while helping my wife, who would be spearheading the activity.

Then, a few short years ago, with the birth of my second child, I started giving a lot more consideration to what we were eating. My wife has always tried to push me to eat more healthy, but I resisted.
As time has gone on, it has become more apparent that I need to change, thing is I hate vegetables! How do I get over the fact that I really don't enjoy the food I should be eating?

I had a brainwave recently, considering I am someone who places great value on the time and effort that went into creating something, maybe I could grow my own food?
If I planted it, cared for it and harvested it fresh, myself, maybe that would be enough encouragement to actually push through that mental block and eat vegetables on a more regular basis.

So here is step one in that process.


We live in an apartment, with no garden, though we do have two balconies. The one off of the main bedroom gets sun for most of the day, whilst the other off of the lounge gets no direct sunlight at all.

Everything ready to go! Ignore the overgrown plater thats part of the balcony, that's a job for another post 😉
P.S. can you see what's missing?


A closer look at the plant pots I bought, it's quite a neat, stacked system, so with any luck I will have some tall green pots!


A single pot, all ready for assembly


I assume the rectangular hole, about the centre of the photo is for a water overflow? Like I said, gardening noob.


Bottom plate dropped in, with a press fit;

Then the crossbars are placed at the top, these stiffen the structure immensely, it was quite flexible without them.


Here is where I plan to put the pots, I measured the distance between the wall and the rain pipe before buying the pot's. From my measurements these pot's are a touch wider that the space.


Yup, wider. I could leave it standing proud, or ...

BFI!!

I think my dad coined this term, as I have never heard anyone else mention it. BFI stands for Brute Force and Ignorance.

I just pushed it in, with the side to the rain pipe going in first. The pot deforms enough for a snug fit. Great Success!


All stacked and ready to go!

BUT WAIT! There's more!


I bought more than one set of these, so we can add another layer.


A photo of the bottom layer for the pot, showing that the crossbars are moulded with the bottom layer as a piece. Neat :)


No space for more, so I will have to put the leftovers somewhere else.


I also toyed with the idea of having two pots in the bottom tier, but I think it's likely we will kick one when we exit the door.


Cable tie / zip tie ALL THE THINGS!
Even with only three tiers it looked to be a bit unstable, so I fastened the top tier to the pipe. Seem's like it will be fine.


Aww yeah, got me some soil in those pots!


The two left over were placed on the opposite side of the balcony.

Almost done, now where did I put the seeds...

.

.

.

No, really, where are the seeds!?!?

Sigh, like I said, total noob in the garden. At least I got this far :D

Follow Me!

You got here?

Thank you!

I hope you enjoyed this post, please let me know if you did in the comments

Sort:  

Hello @shaunmza,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Good for you in starting a garden! I hope that you have great success and end up really enjoying your vegetables! Fresh from the garden really does taste better, I think. Now I wonder what you will be growing! Happy gardening! : )

Nothing for now, I really did lose the seeds!

My mother in-law suggested we try plant, well, plants, instead of seeds as there may be more cold weather, which would damage/kill the seeds. She is handy in the garden, so going to follow her advice.

The plan is for lettuce, tomato and some herbs.
Maybe more, but like I said, absolute noob in the garden.

Let us all know how your garden grows! Lettuce and herbs will be very practical with your setup. It's good that you have your mother-in-law around for advice. Happy gardening!

After turning the house upside down and giving up, I found the seeds
.
.
.
In my jacket pocket, sigh.

Once we have warmer weather I can get started!

haha -- I laughed at that. I'm glad you found your seeds! Here's to some warmer weather so you can get started soon. And let us all know how it's going, too! :D

So... COOL! I just started a very primitive herb garden. They seem to be growing but I would harvest them with much trepidation. I haven't exactly had a "green thumb" in the past. I recently had a decorative bamboo plant bite the dust after months.

You have inspired me. I am going give this setup a go! Thanks for sharing.

Awesome to hear! I hope your garden works out, let me know how it goes!

Way to go! I am looking forward to seeing your crops.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60274.16
ETH 2339.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55