Late July Garden Report

in #gardening5 years ago

It's so encouraging to see the flowers begin to bloom, and the vegetable plants beginning to produce tasty things to eat. I took these pictures about ten days ago, while my computer was being repaired, and am just now getting around to the gardening post.

20190718_194233_9.jpg

I have never grown calendulas before, and am very pleased by their cheery colors. The row of collards on the right side is not doing particularly well, but I have decided to leave them alone.

20190718_194252_10.jpg

The zinnias make me happy! The gladiolus will bloom next month sometime.

20190718_121837_7.jpg

I'm not sure how I got started growing hollyhocks, but I've had them for years. The deer like them, so I have to either put up deer fence or be diligent with the deer spray. This year I've relied on the latter, rather successfully. I've been replacing many of the deer's favorites with plants they don't like, but am loath to give up the hollyhocks.

20190718_194128_8.jpg

I thought these red flowers were lamb's ears, but a neighbor recently told me she thought they were something else. Whatever they are, the deer don't eat them, so that's why I have them now. There is also quite a patch of spearmint in this same spot, and they leave that alone, too.

20190718_194332_11.jpg

Alas, something keeps chewing on the sunflowers, the collards, and the broccoli. I suspect grasshoppers, cabbage moths, or slugs. I have been too busy to do anything about it; I hope they enjoy their meals. The seeds were free, so I'm not going to stress over it. All the other plants are doing great!

All photos taken on my Android phone.

Sort:  

Wow!! These flowers are gorgeous!! My favorite pic from your post is:

These are absolutely gorgeous!! :D Keep up the good farming! Loving it!! ♥ Love, PrincessSneklady

Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50