Early gardening projects

in #gardening5 years ago

Twelve days ago I told @biffybirdcam I would post some gardening tales and photos "soon." For me, today still qualifies!

20190423_163616_8.jpg

In the fall of 2017, my sister gave me $20 with which to buy daffodil bulbs for my birthday, since she had been unable to find any where she lives. My success was not much better, and I ended up with an assortment of narcissus, hyacinths, and mystery plants that did not bloom last year and have not yet bloomed this year. I have no idea what they are. In the photo above, they are on the right of the hyacinths. I would be pleased if someone could identify them!

20190423_163714_9.jpg

I love daffodils, but they don't grow well for me. This one escaped my attention when I dug up all the flowers I used to have along the side of the garage. At least it bloomed!

20190423_163747_10.jpg

My son gave me this bleeding heart twelve years ago and it has flourished in this shady spot under the stairs. A few years ago I attempted to build a retaining wall around it, but had no idea what I was doing. Although the wall lasted for a while, it has recently caved in. I intend to watch some YouTube videos on how to build one correctly. But I'll have to do it immediately, or else wait 'til fall, because this plant gets HUGE.

20190423_163858_12.jpg

Rhubarb is one of the first plants to come up in the spring, making it an automatic favorite of mine. My husband helped me dig up the original plant in the fall of 2017 because it had gotten 'way too big and overgrown. This is the section I kept. It didn't look healthy last year; we'll see how it does this year.

20190423_163916_13.jpg

Here is another mystery. I was pleasantly surprised to find all these lovely green things growing underneath a pile of dead raspberry canes I heaped up last fall. I supposed it's something my husband planted. Maybe bunching onions, which I never have understood how to grow, harvest, or use. I guess I better figure it out!

20190423_163835_11.jpg

Last, but not least, is the strawberry bed. It, too, had gotten overgrown; last year half the berries rotted right there on the vine, probably because they couldn't get any air or light. So I have been digging it all up, a section at a time, and replanting a modest number of starts. I actually finished that project earlier today, and it is looking really good.

All photos taken on my Android phone.

Sort:  

@scribblingramma The stores sell hyacinths down here and I love them but it is to hot for them. It makes me mad that they do not care if a plant will live, all they care about is the money. Do strawberries go dormant in the winter and come up in the spring? or do you replant each year?

Yes, they are perennials and go dormant in the winter. But it seems as if they need to be started fresh every few years. Or else I'm doing something wrong.

Lovely flowers and I have not a clue as to what those non bloomers are for ya..

But that bleeding heart plant is my favorite! I love the flowers, obviously. So unique, I actually found a wild one down behind my farm, that I believe my neighbor pitched an old clay pot back in the day and it flourished out in the wild.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's amazing that plants will decide to keep going after being discarded!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62938.05
ETH 2552.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63