Sort:  

Your beginning scenario pretty much exactly describes our first venture with vegetable gardening!

Oh my! Well I hope perhaps You might try the layering method. What method do you currently use?

Yeah I agree with you totally, I have always hated seeing earth exposed. Protect and feed the soil that has always been my approach.

Mulch is magical!!!

Great inspiring post on the priceless value of soil! My family and I are preparing to make the move to a 1 acre forested parcel, and begin our homesteading/micro-farming journey.

I've been preparing for years, with attending conferences, studying various farming and permaculture and ecology techniques and practices, and it's pretty clear that soil = life.
Often overlooked in the common practices of mono-cropping and even "re-wilding" suburban and urban areas.

Thanks for sharing your experiences! Looking forward to checking out more of your posts.

Thank you @simgooder ! Congratulations on your new homestead!I will also look forward to seeing your posts. Do you have any Sugar Maples on your parcel? We are in full sun and sometimes I long for the the maple syrup and mushroom logs from when we lived in the forest!

They are amazing. We have done one here. We would like to do more of them, especially for our perennial vegetable and herb beds. Thank you for commenting.

Yes!! Our gardening style was forever changed when we learned about deep mulching. When we started our garden, it was a few inches of dirt, hardly any nutrients, then rock and clay. We've managed to gain soil through compost and manure, and now we have added mulch! Love your post!

Thank you @freedomtowrite I hold mulch in high regard! Can't wait to see your garden pics!

Thanks! I look forward to taking some!

I LOVE THIS POST!!! i am bookmarking it to come back to, time and time again. thanks for the incredible assortment of photos and the great details.

Thank you! I am truly glad you appreciate it! If you have any questions, just let me know!

you bet we will! the amount of knowledge this group has is just incredible - i love it!

Absolutely! Thank goodness we're all here!

This is exactly our plan as well... we are collecting news papers, cardboard boxes, etc. along with a pile of rabbit poo 😉😂
Hope to keep you posted on this year’s garden!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71