You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Winterizing Temperature Sensitive Fruit Trees

in #gardening7 years ago

What an interesting and unique way to "mulch" a young tree through the winter. It looks solid and well thought out. Thanks for sharing! I look forward to see how it turns out.

Sort:  

@sagescrub Thank you for the kind words. Are the seeds you're collecting all edible plants?

Yes for the most part! Edible perennials, herbs, weeds, veggies. I gave all my seeds from my garden before I started travelling, now 1 1/2 years later I have a huge tub full of seeds. If you would like any wild plum seeds of many flavors or delicious italian plum seeds I collected quite a few to share. And then my partner is collecting flower seeds of many types as she is a flower farmer :)

That is far too kind of you! I'm good on most seeds at the moment, but we have a ton of fruit trees and wild fruit trees. We also do a garden every year. If there's any seeds you need me to save, let me know. Also, I see you're posting to the gardening tags, but you may want to check out the homesteading ones too. There are seed giveaways and exchanges I've seen on there. I think @beatitudes8 is doing seed giveaway contests.

Wow that's great to know, I will keep an eye on #homesteading :) what kind of wild fruit trees are growing on your land, I'm curious?

As far as what we have found growing, we have wild plum, persimmon, and pecan. We also found some edible vines growing such as Japanese Honeysuckle and Passion fruit vines which appear to be invasive.

Wow that's incredible! How amazing to have all that good food growing all on it's own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54045.75
ETH 2247.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30