Plant Profile: Goumi - Elaeagnus Multiflora - A Hardy, Vigorous, Berry Producing Shrub

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

I want to share some info about a fun plant that you may not have heard of before! I hadn't heard of the Goumi until I volunteered for a Permaculture homestead last year. The had several varieties of Goumi growing and they were already fruiting vigorously in May.

This beautiful Goumi shrub is only 5 years old. Can you believe it?!

_
IMG_20160710_110757.jpg

The Goumi prolifically produces clusters of delicious little berries.

They are both sour and sweet. Some varieties of Goumi are sweeter than others, some are more sour. I am pretty sure these berries pack a big dose of Vitamin C.

They plump up and get real juicy when ripe. The nice thing is they are really easy to harvest. You can either grab a cluster at a time by the stems and then de-stem later, or take the time to hold the stems or branches with one hand and then pick off the berries with another. You could sit on the ground in the shade of the shrub and pull hundreds of little berries off the tree. Many of the berries ripen at the same time, so it can be convenient to dedicated the time to harvest most of them at once, and then get the stragglers here and there a few times in successive harvests.

IMG_20160710_175618.jpg

Belonging to the Elaeagnus family, the Goumi is related to Autumn Olive, Russian Olive, Silverberry and many others. The Goumi, as well as all members of the Elaeagnus family, are Nitrogen Fixing (N-fixers). If you haven't heard of nitrogen fixing before, it means that the plant can harvest nitrogen from the air and put it into the soil, creating a more fertile growing environment for itself and other plants.

This is a huge advantage for a gardener trying to improve soil fertility.

There are annual nitrogen fixers such as beans and peas and there are perennial nitrogen fixers such as Goumi. The nice thing about the Goumi being a perennial is that year after year, as the Goumi's roots grow larger and become more established it will fix larger and larger amounts of nitrogen into the soil, improving the health and vigor of plants under it's canopy and all around it's root zone. In the following picture you can see raspberry canes that totally engulfed this Goumi shrub in order to benefit from its nitrogen fixing abilities! Whereas the other trees and shrubs around it did not have raspberry canes jumping over to them.

This observation is totally anecdotal, but for me proved the amazing fertilizer harvesting power of this shrub. Wish I had a picture that was more zoomed out because it was pretty amazing :) The nice thing about it is there was a totally symbiotic relationship between the two plants in the same space. It made harvesting more interesting as you had to reach through one to harvest the other, but the tall raspberry canes provided a huge amount of shade for harvesting Goumis, and I really appreciated that in the hot spring weather.

IMG_20160712_184349.jpg

The only real downside that I have found about the Goumis is that they have a long woody seed that are fairly chewy. If I am eating a small amount of Goumis I will either spit out the pit or chew it and swallow it with the Goumi depending on how I am feeling. But for any large amount of fruit to be consumed at once (such as preserves) you will want to take out the seeds. They wouldn't make an appetizing jam for example.

I found that a food mill (such as Foley food mill) works quite well at seperating the seeds from the juice. You will be left with a mash of seeds and pulp. We experimented with fermenting this mash and got a delicious tasting wine, even before aging. Then the chickens got the fermented mash and seeds once the fermentation was done, and they clucked up a storm!

The resulting juice lends itself well to jellies, sauces, fruit leather, freezing in ice cubes for flavoring food or drinks, mixed drinks, and I'm sure there are many other uses you can think of!

We also dehydrated some Goumis without processing them and they were not bad to eat a few at a time with the pit in them. We also put those whole dried Goumis into things like meatloaf and other baked dishes and they added some nice flavor. The pits didn't really get in the way of enjoying the meal experience because they were spread out with many other nice ingredients.

Another nice thing about the Goumis is that they are hardy down to zone 5, so it would take a pretty harsh winter to do them in. Up in North East Washington, not too far from Canada, they are doing just fine.

I highly recommend checking out this Goumi plant profile at Plants for a Future. While there I just learned that the Goumi is "capable of reducing the incidence of cancer and also as a means of halting or reversing the growth of cancers". Amazing!!

In general I highly recommend this website Plants for a Future for researching and learning about plants you want to grow in your garden. It's easy to search a plant in their database and you will likely get an amazing amount of facts and information about propagating and growing your favorite plants :)

Goumis can be propagated by cutting, layering or seed. You may want to just buy some Goumis from a nursery and get it going ASAP, but considering how vigorous they grow and quickly they produce (within just a few years) starting from seed is also a reasonable consideration.

Consider planting a Goumi in your garden this coming spring and you will have years of delicious and fun berries to come!

Wishing you a 2018 filled with abundance. I am grateful for this abundant harvest from last spring including the Goumi berries and the raspberries that engulfed it!

IMG_20160713_112912.jpg

Sort:  

I love that you found two uses for the mash! You had me really interested with the perennial n-fixer thing, but the speed of growth, the wine and health benifits have me pretty much sold. (I’d like to look more into the health/medicinal qualities of the Goumi.)

I love watching little tiny seeds grow into big strong plants, so I’ll probably start mine that way. I’ve just got to find seed!

Thanks for putting all this together!

Haha yeah! Glad you enjoyed the post. Maybe I'll do more interesting plant profiles in the future :) When you are looking for seeds, I'd recommend researching and trying a sweeter variety (sorry I can't help with a name atm). I really enjoy the tarter ones too, but I can eat more of the sweet ones at a time, and they wouldn't need as much sweetener if you make jam type preserves.

Thanks for the extra info!

Great profile of goumi! We are SO excited to have this wonderful plant on our homestead. Plant for the future for sure!! Thanks for sharing.

That's great! How are you incorporating the goumi into your homestead? Did you buy starts or seed and if so did you have a good experience? Other folks here may be interested to know :)

Yes sure! My mom actually bought me some plants for Christmas last yr (all i ever want- books & plants haha!) from One Green World. I think it was a year old and we had a great experience. Very vigorous plant! We intercropped it in a permaculture planting with schizandra (Chinese 5 flavor fruit you may be familiar with), roses, persimmons, asparagus and others! I'm really stoked to have it in our landscape for the reasons you describe above! (no fruit yet!).

Awesome! That sounds like an amazing combination of plants :) Thanks for sharing your experience and source!

I just had my first schizandra tasting this year and it was fun and so unique. The vines I met were pretty vigorous and up to the second story balcony after 5-6 years. They were next to some hardy kiwis and hops also vigorously vining up to the balcony to help provide shade to a southern side of the house.

That's awesome! You've had some good exposure to well planted niches!! :) I love natural shade produced by plants, especially when they smell good.

I hadn't heard of goumi, it sounds delicious! I'm always on the lookout for more edible perenials to plant around my home, I'll keep my eyes open for this!

Great! Yeah you should try it out!

Interesting plant. Not one im familiar with.

Will be starting Elaeagnus multiflora from seed in spring 2019, right now there's no suitable place for it in our new garden. However, I already started some Elaeagnus angustifolia - oleaster. Not so much for the edibility, but it's also a nitrogen fixer and bee forage plant, as well as a nice source of wood, takes coppicing quite well.

How interesting! I am not familiar with the oleaster. I'll have to read up on it! Sounds like a great one for the bees and fuel.

Another species of interest of the Elaeagnus genus is Umbellata. Will try to get that going alond the goumi! I just love diversity!

I've never met a silverberry. How do the fruits taste compared to goumi or autumn olive?

Well, I guess the goumi (Elaeagnus multiflora) has the best fruit for consumption by humans, at least in the temperate climate. Followed by Elaeagnus umbellata. At least in IMHO.

Elaeagnus angustifolia is not really suitable for eating in large quantities, however that makes it easier to cut down for coppicing and hedge forming. Don't you find it's harder to cut down a plant that bears delicious fruit? :)

HAHAH i suppose so, unless I have a whole hedgerow and don't want to harvest them all ;) nice thanks for that info about the palatability!

I’ve been wanting to get a few Goumi shrubs for a little while. Thanks for the info, I’ve read about them but haven’t heard from anyone who actually tried them and used them. Thanks for the info and sharing your experience!

You're very welcome :) It's totally worth planting one or a few!

the post is very good. hopefully the future is better .. please follow me. thank you

Congratulations @sagescrub! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52