You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Aquaponics system update week 18 & 19

in #gardening7 years ago

I'm working on a Aquaponic system myself , using feeder fish in a 15 gal. tank at this time as my seeding/sprouting bed. What temp. do strawberries prefer right now my water temp. is 76 F. I'm thinking of adding a small radiant heater to up the air temp. alittle. Or should I add another small water heater. The system is indoors . Want to build up to grow year round.
up voted/followed/resteemed

Sort:  

I think strawberries prefer a bit cooler, 76 is about their limit I think to produce fruit. Low 70s is a good temp to have a wide variety of legumes. Are you thinking you will need the extra heat in winter? Feeder fish don't need heated water at least not gold fish. You may want to spend some extra on growlights instead if you are indoors.

One more thing about strawberries. I know commercial growers put the roots in freezers during winter. So strawberries need a cold period to have healthy blooms. If you have them inside all year that might be something to think about.

Awesome possum !! Thank you ! The extra heat I'm thinking of is because I'm using LED grow lights and they don't put out radiant heat , trying to raise air temp a little , give it more of an outdoorish (LOL) conditions . Plus a small 4 watt fan to keep air movement .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59169.46
ETH 2597.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42