Herb Seed Success!

in #gardening7 years ago

IMG_1135.JPG

A few days ago I mentioned I was planting some herb seeds from 2010. Yesterday, I found that I have seedlings! I'm so excited! I've never had luck with them before.

IMG_1136.JPG

The different basils are the fastest growers. There are some Marjoram seedlings too. What do you do with that one? I know I'll have to thin them out, but I went nuts with the planting in case some of the seeds were duds. Another nice garden discovery is that my pineapple top seems to have taken root. Did you know you can plant the top off of a pineapple and get a plant? Just remove as much of the fruit from around the base and plant it. Here it is with some Violas that finally bloomed (grown from seeds):

![IMG_1140.JPG]
()

Today I planted dill and lemon basil seeds (I hope my neighbors like basil, I think I'll have enough to share!).
I'll post the photos when they come up. I had a Venus fly trap but it died. However, I noticed I have a bonus tomato seedling in its pot. Thank you nature!

Sort:  

Nice job! Love those bonus tomato seedlings. Had two this year and their tomatoes where great!

I see a pineapple top in there too! I love growing things. I am attempting to root two clippings I took from my poor lost watermelon so far they are doing well, I am soaking them in a bath of water and steeped willow clipping tea.

I'd love to see pictures. I wish you good luck and a bounty of watermelon!

So it looks like I cant follow through on this both clipping have died. I gonna have to try again next year.

Aww that sucks, I'm sorry!

Nah. It was a good little experiment.

I may be able to make that happen :P

I love that you did the pineapple... Everything looks great.

Thanks! That pot is the collage pot....I just keep throwing random seeds in with the pineapple and see what comes up.

haha, I do that too... hell, I throw stuff right out my house windows, usually the chickens eat it all but somethings actually make it.

Congratulations @renodakota! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70