Grey Bee

in #gardening7 years ago

I was checking out my herbs and I noticed what I thought was a horse fly (blech!). Upon closer inspection I noticed that it was a bee. I've never seen a bee with his coloring before. He is grey, black, and white. I thought all bees had some yellow. IMG_1154.JPG

Anyway, he was really cute, just hanging out on my kumquat tree. Have you guys ever seen a bee like this? Is he a certain kind?

Sort:  

Never seen one like this! I hate horsefly's too! One of our neighbors got bit by a nasty horsefly and developed and infection, didn't know they could bite :/

Yes, the fact that they bite makes them extra repulsive! I've never seen a bee like this either. I was all excited.

I'll ask @themevlog. He studied entomology and might know...

Cool, thanks!

Congratulations @renodakota! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I can't really tell from the photo but it kind of looks like a Mason bee to me.

Cool, I'll check into that!

Genus Megachile - Leaf-cutter and Resin Bees http://bugguide.net/node/view/7751

Thank you! It was neat to see, and nice to know what kind it is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05